We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Go for lunch...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Grill

Sunshine Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy world-class casual dining with true Caribbean flair for breakfast, lunch, dinner or drinks. Our colorful poolside restaurant with award winning food at an affordable price has made the Sunshine Grill a favorite for local residents and international visitors alike. Everyday favorites include the BEST angus burgers, award winning fish tacos and island specialty drinks.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for lunch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Atmosphere was beachy (by the pool) and music was festive. Tacos were good but maybe I'm too much of a plain eater...I wasn't as crazy about them as everyone on here made them seem. Wouldn't be on my short list when I return to Grand Cayman.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustMomRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,008
    983
    237
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunshine Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good food, very casual atmosphere. Not on the beach and somewhat hard to find as it is by a pool of a hotel. But totally known for the food. Try the fish tacos as they were awesome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mojitos and Fish Tacos to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you're going to the Sunshine Grill and you are of age, don't think twice, get a mojito. I'm going to be pining for those mojitos until I can get back to Grand Cayman. A mojito accompanied with the fish tacos and you're set. I can't wait to go back there!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish tacos! Fish tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've eaten at many restaurtants in the Cayman Islands and no-frills Sunshine Grill has better food than the more expensive ones.

The fish tacos, all varieties, are the best I've ever had. People love the burger but the quality of beef you get in the Caribbean is probably not the same as what we're spoiled with in the U.S.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanQueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to this place based on Trip Advisor recommendations and absolutely LOVED IT! It was full, and we had about a 30-minute wait - but hey, we're sitting poolside in Grand Cayman with no where else to be. We ordered the Perfect Margarita to enjoy while we waited and it was just that - ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. Seriously, this was the best margarita I have ever tasted - bar none. Smooth, sweet (but not too), fresh lime juice, wonderful citrus overtones... perfection. We started with the Fish Fritters, just to try something different. Delicious. My husband ordered the Tres Tacos - he loved how fresh and flavorful each taco was, and that they came with special sauce/salsas to complement the flavors of each, but his favorite was the Cuban Chicken Taco. I ordered the Grilled Wahoo Medallions. Oh. My. Gosh. This was seriously one of the best meals I've ever had. The wahoo was tender and perfectly cooked and finished with a delicate citrus/mushroom sauce, and the pairing of this with the tangy fried tomatoes was sublime! Even my husband, a tomato hater, loved the sweet/tangy flavor combination! As if that wasn't enough, there was a generous serving of Cuban-style black beans and rice, golden grilled garlic bread, Caesar salad, and sweet herbed (mint?), buttered carrots. So much food - and all excellent! We took half of our entrees back to our hotel, where our daughters immediately devoured them! We returned two nights later - daughter #1 ordered the Wahoo, husband did a repeat of the Tres Tacos, I ordered the Havana Chicken *SIGH*. I can't wait to return to Grand Cayman, but not just because of the diving, but because: I MUST HAVE THOSE GRILLED WAHOO MEDALLIONS AGAIN!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsDinKC8506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunshine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing