We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went without a reservation during prime time”

Ragazzi Restaurante & Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Italian Cusine It is all about good food, love, friendship and family. ​ Ragazzi Restaurant is owned and run by good friends Paolo Polloni and Andi Marcher. With it’s vibrant colors, authentic wood burning pizza oven and central location, it has become a meeting point for friends.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Went without a reservation during prime time”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ended up waiting a while to eat as we didn't have reservations and were happy that we did. The wine list was good, the food was good and we would definitely go back next time we are in Cayman.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gidget265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    360
    71
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had dinner in Ragazzi a couple of times during our vacation in Cayman Island.
The restaurant was suggested to us by our diver instructor.
The venue is really pleasant, dim light, soft music, candles in each table, romantic.
The service was quick and attentive. Huge wine list and the food.. Just amazing !
Between both visits we tried the seafood salad, the home made ” bresaola “( thin slices of cured beef , apparently made in the restaurant) and the “conch chowder”..
All dishes very well presented and tasty.
And as entre we had the seafood risotto with grill jumbo prawns and one of the specials of the day, the grill trio of seabass, jumbo scallops and tuna with orange fennel sauce. Both perfectly cooked.
On our second visit we even tried the Pizza. With our surprise we felt like in Italy the thin slice crispy pizza baked in a real wood burning oven was like the one we had in Florence. Perfect!!
The portions are quite large so on both time there was no room for dessert..
Definitely happy with Ragazzi !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vita33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Done with Ragazzi...”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Okay, I'll keep this brief...my former review (2010 I believe) was mixed. Food was great but service lacking.

This time, after a serious craving for carbs, I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. It was off to a great start with service. Waiter quite friendly (just forgot to mention all the specials but that wasn't so bad).

Both my spouse and I ordered pasta dishes but his was the pesto pollo, so lots of green happening on his plate. Well mid-way through his meal, he's picking out something from his mouth with an expression that clearly ready, "I have no idea what I'm chewing on...".

WIRE - as in the little fine type found in something like an SOS brillo pad!!!!

Call the waiter, he's surprised and offers a replacement order, or another pasta. At this point my husband fears a pasta dish and goes with a pizza. Which ultimately proved to be less dangerous than his first choice.

End of dinner...NOT EVEN A COMP for this disaster!!! Unbelievable!!! I have been in restaurants in Toronto where my steak came to the table a little more pink than my desired request and they returned with a brand new, fully plated meal, then COMPED the entire thing!!!!!

So, a safe bet that we are DONE WITH RAGAZZI and you can find better places to go in Grand Cayman (and it's not exactly moderate pricing here either).

To add to the evening, we arrived when the restaurant was fairly empty (not an overly busy time of year here in Cayman to begin with). Had a loverly table in the corner, expecting an enjoyable evening...then a family was seated beside us (when they clearly had the option to put them anywhere in the entire restaurant). What fun when the kids started tormenting each other and running around the table, knocking my shoulder and purse as they passed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach_Addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the island.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

First trip out of eight to Grand Cayman that we ate at Ragazzi.....and we are bummed that we didn't discover it earlier. Great wine selection, best traditional italian pizza and nice atmosphere. Reasonably priced for Grand Cayman and level of quality they deliver.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dobolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family Friendly and Delicious!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our favorite Italian restaurant on the island, and being from NY, this is no small feat! Ragazzi is right across the street from our hotel, the Grand Cayman Beach Suites, and just a quick walk! Ragazzi opens at 11am and closes later at night, so there is no problem eating dinner early with little ones. While there is no "kids menu" per se, they will make any kind of pasta noodle for them with butter or bolognese sauce, and they also have pizzas. Our favorite dishes were the Orrechiette (little ears), which was served with garlic, butter, oil, shrimp, and broccoli, and the Pasta Bolognese! The bread served before the meal is also delicious! Keep up the great work!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragazzi Restaurante & Pizzeria also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Ragazzi Restaurante & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing