We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal..lovely setting”
Review of Hemingway's

Hemingway's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal..lovely setting”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just wanted to let you know we had one of the best meals we have ever had while on vacation in Gr Cayman.
We had dinner there on Oct 30th and were in heaven from start to finish. The atmosphere was romantic and lovely. The server Kylee was excellent. The food was just incredible. My husband had the escargot & the walnut crusted snapper, I had the Bang Bang shrimp and the salmon. All the dishes were perfectly seasoned, the sauces were delectable , vegetables were incredible & perfectly cooked & everything was served piping hot. Our server recommended the Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert- WOW!! we shared it ( big mistake- you must get your own!!) we wanted to lick the plate clean it was so yummy. We will recommend Hemingways to all we know and hope to get back there soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    125
    62
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We actually had the pleasure of dining at Hemingways twice during our last trip to Grand Cayman. Both were for dinner and at sunset. In a word, spectacular. Beautiful surroundings, attentive staff and some of the best fish we had while on the island.

If you are there on a Sunday don't miss the champagne brunch, outstanding!

Having been a regular visitor the this are for 20 years, Hemingway's is always a must do.

And I can't end this review without a tip of the hat to one of the managers, Dileep Jayamanna, who always made sure that our visits were perfect.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles21_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Service was excellent and the manager was very nice. We sat outside on the patio and the breeze was so pleasant. Expensive, but well worth it for a nice romantic night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Champagne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Late supper”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really good local food choices, great atmosphere that included live music. Service was very good and drink menu was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not to bad”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

As a local we use to go here a lot, now they don't allow locals to use their pool, meaning our kids, won't be got g back. The food is good a birthday pricie, the servers are reality slow, I will say the management is great, that's if you know them, theymAkers sure you're taken care of.

Going back the pool issue, it restaurant is in a hotel but we spend approx $250 in the restaurant and then another $200 on the out side bar, this would be twice month.

Well not anymore..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captmatt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Hemingway's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing