We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good little beach bar”

Calico Jack's Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Diego
Level Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good little beach bar”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Needed a bite to eat and something to wash away the salt water taste in our mouths so we cruised down 7 mile beach to Calico Jack's. we ordered our drinks both good and shared a grilled Mahdi sandwich which was very good. Three large pieces of Mahi with onion rings. Perfect lunch. Hit this spot up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    255
    121
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ozone Park, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sandy toes”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place is all about location. Sipping on a frosty beverage while sticking my sand in the toes is the best feeling ever. Throw in an amazing sunset and it'll be one those memories that lasts a lifetime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meribon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spackle”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I had visited calico jack, afterword we experienced the most explosive liquid diharrea either of us have ever experienced.   We are still shaking with stomach pain and have even decided to name our new stomach companions Martha Chesterfield and Natalie Wormwood.   Please avoid at all costs!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gave it a Second Shot...Won't be Back”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We really wanted to like this place, as it is truly located in a great spot, however it just didn't turn out that way. Both times we visited in the evening, around 9pm so we were on our own and not with a cruise excursion, so maybe that's why we had bad luck? As noted, we went two times, hoping that we just had luck on our first try, but it was bad two nights in a row, so that was that.

Both visits we experienced the following:
-slow service at the tables. Had to walk to the bar to get service. On the second night, we couldn't get decent service at the the bar - bartender told me I was in the wrong spot ... go to the other side.
-dirty - we had drinks here, and I definitely would not eat food from here based on what I saw...tables and bar surfaces were sticky (literally) and dirty
-patrons smoking at the bar and tables, so difficult to get a breath of fresh air
-overserving of liquor - on one night, one poor chap was so drunk he had to brace himself against a pillar at the bar to keep upright, shorts almost falling off, and he was still allowed to remain on the premises and to continue to consume
-again with the over serving - the other night, a group of girls so drunk they were staggering and yelling, and were still allowed remain and to consume
-I was allowed to run a tab the first night, however the second night I was told I had to leave my credit card at the bar to run a tab (no way was I going to do that at this establishment)
-this is not the restaurants fault, but one night we started to chat with some fellows, who then tried to hit us up telling us they were diving guides and would give us "a tank for $10". Seemed pretty sketchy and unsafe...but again, not the restaurants fault.

Anyways, as noted, we gave this place two tries, and that was enough. I suspect that at night after the cruise visitors leave in the afternoon, that this becomes a low rent place for young expats.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

after taking the public bus over to 7 mile beach and renting chairs on this beautiul beach. we went over to calico jacks for lunch. The food was very good, service was extremely friendly. Although you have to be careful because of the currency conversion. Mahi samwidch was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PiratesOfTheCarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Jack's Bar & Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calico Jack's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing