We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the location”

Calico Jack's Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the location”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Food average and pricey, location and view outstanding. Drink prices were about average for the Island - better during Happy Hour.Yes, you will stick to the tables and the bar, but you are at a BEACH BAR!!! This ain't supposed to be the Ritz! Seating either in the bar or grab a bucket of beer and head to the sand. Go later in the afternoon, early evening when the cruise ships have left. Great place to relax and see the sunset. This the beach bar you dream about when you are "freezing up in Buffalo".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelerPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    263
    121
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is the place where tourist buses from the cruise ship pier will push you to get off of their bus. It is a very limited menu, but that's okay because it is convenient since it's right on the beach. The problem is that it is obscenely expensive. $37+ for two kids to eat lunch. That's ridiculous!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good open bar restaurant with beach.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visited this restaurant in March 2013 while on a cruise. We were headed to Tiki Beach, after a few hours of shopping and site seeing, and had ask the cab driver to take us there. However he suggested Grape Beach with was right next to Tiki Beach (which is all park of Seven Mile Beach) and it was free where as there was a fee for Tiki Beach. So we and several others (we were in a taxi van) took his advise. He dropped us off right at Calico Jacks which sits on Grape Beach. It had everything we needed. Drinks, food, music, beach chair rentals ($10 each), bath house, changing room and even a couple of small souvenir shops. My wife and I ordered the jerk chicken which was very good beach fare and we sat and ate it only a few feet from the waters edge. Her frozen drinks were good and my beer was cold. They even provided me with an ice bucket to bring to my beach chair. This was a very nice relaxing area that provided all you needed for a great day at the beach. Also it was only $5 per person (each way) for the taxi that we caught right at the cruise port.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunsand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant & Bar on Seven Mile Beach”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

While the menu is fairly limited, the food was good the portion sizes were good and you can't beat the location. This place is located right on the public beach portion of Seven Mile Beach. The bartenders and waitresses were really cool. Good spot for lunch for a family or just a group of adults.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to RELAX!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We came into GC on a cruise and chose this to be our beach day. You need to go into GC expecting things to cost more than other islands. Ues the drinks here are pricey especially if you're not a beer drinker. I do suggest you ask the price of mixed drinks. I also never order fruity drinks at a bar regardless of where I am. I stick to vodka and soda or gin and tonic. That being said, the atmosphere is fantastic. We had great service and what more could you ask for than a bar right on the beach? If you don't want to rent a beach chair there are plenty of picnic tables with large umbrellas or you can stay up by the bar. There are bathrooms right there as well. I highly recommend this area if you're planning time at the beach while in GC.

Helpful?
Thank nyagnandagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Jack's Bar & Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calico Jack's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing