We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch!”
Review of Periwinkle

Periwinkle
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for lunch!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Ate here before our massage and spa appointments. Great quiet tranquil outdoor seating by the Ritz marina. Really friendly staff and great service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithnewhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food is awesome and atmosphere is heavenly. The food can be expensive but what isn't in the Caymans. The food was exceptionally tasty and the best on the island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better for pasta than seafood”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had the red snapper at Calypso Grill , and then then next day had it here. The Calypso Grill was incomparably better. I wasn't impressed with the seafood salad my wife had, or with the calamari appetizer either. On the other hand, I tasted our dinner companions' pasta and it was very good.

Mixed drinks were pretty good, the wine selection was very expensive. Cappucino was really superb.

The wait staff was OK, though they forgot to bring the wine list for a while, and were a little slow pouring the rosé after the first round. Definitely sharper than the average island restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Periwinkle”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good food, nice size portions. We had a lovely salad and pasta. Reasonably priced. Best pasta on island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank apsara14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Confusion”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Because we were staying at the Ritz and had arrived few hours earlier for a one week vacation we decided it would be convenient to have dinner at the Periwinkle. Were taken by the confusion created by trying to be a good Italian restaurant in a 5* hotel, the informality of the staff, all the kids around and the awful smell coming from the nearby torches planted around the outdoor area where they project movies in the evenings. Most of the food was good but the overall experience to be forgotten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periwinkle also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Periwinkle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing