We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian on the Island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova by the Sea

Casanova by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 113 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Germantown, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian on the Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my honeymoon trip. We sat on the edge of the porch, the waves crashing on the wall below, the wine was good, the garlic bread was excellent, and the main course was excellent. Add the harpist playing and singing to my 4 day old new wife and I might of had something to do with viewing this as one of my favorite meals on earth. The owners are from Italy and this was on par with one of my meals in Tuscany. This is a must go restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    338
    80
    49
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Happened to hop on a bus, not sure where to go, and the couple that was riding with us highly recommended Casanova. We were so pleasantly surprised when we asked to sit outside and we were literally walked all the way out onto the sand to a lovely table. The servive was amazing! We were served complimentary bruschetta, then we shared the calamari which was wonderful. my husband, a very hard to please former chef, enjoyed his meal thoroughly - it was penne pasta with lobster...we shared the tiramisu - YUM! We will certainly be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, OH
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best Italian Food on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped at this port as part of our Christmas cruise and decided to take a break from walking to enjoy a drink and some appetizers. The scenery is amazing and the food was great. This is an old world Italian style restaurant with linens, an attentive wait staff and delicious food! We only had drinks and appetizers but the food coming out to the other tables looked very appetizing! I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Grand Cayman.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zlkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic, authentic, Italian by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first experience with Casanova, and it will be remembered for a very long time. The service was impeccable, the atmosphere was breathtaking, and my wife and I were serenaded by a nice gentleman with a harp. The food was great and the wine list is good as well. We can recommend the Caesar salad, penne carbonara, the chicken parm and the perfect pizza margherita. The price was commensurate with the experience, and we are very pleased. I must also mention the Tiramisu, which was light and delicate. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EandN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
1 review
“Great Italian Food for a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great Italian Food for a reasonable price! Great Views as well! If you love Italian food, this will be the restaurant to eat a nice romantic dinner while visiting Grand Cayman.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToddSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova by the Sea also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Casanova by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing