We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky Find Around the Corner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pure Art Gallery & Gifts

Pure Art Gallery & Gifts
Book In Advance
More Info
$316.20*
and up
East Island Sightseeing Tour in Grand Cayman
Ranked #2 of 18 Shopping in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Pure Art Gallery & Gifts has been located in their charming Cayman cottage for over 26 years. Specializing in some of the finest local paintings, prints, maps, photos, sculptures, jewelry (from Caymanite to conch shell), sea salt, jams, hot sauces or pepper jellies, natural soy candles (monkey fart means "banana!"), natural soaps, lotions etc.,...Caymanian thatch hand bags, and a cute year round "Cayman Christmas corner" sure to delight! Open daily except Sundays, Pure Art also offers corporate purchase opportunities, group gift selections, wedding registry, gift certificates, and good customer service. Please email for info.. Island gifts also round out this shop/gallery's inventory with beautiful USA etched crystal, fun beaded sculptures and souvenirs, Mud Pie households, Beautrice Ball gorgeous "Mexican silver", fun Caribbean signs & "spottie" sculptures, shell jewelry, and gifts galore!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lucky Find Around the Corner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A local gem with beautiful homemade art, Caymonite jewelry, and home decor. Much larger than it appears on the outside. The owners are delightful and I always find a great gift for loved ones here. And you can actually park here -easily! Forget the touristy shops by the cruise ships and enjoy shopping where locals shop.

Helpful?
Thank RomanticRoamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanD, Manager at Pure Art Gallery & Gifts, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
As the Manager of Pure Art these 27 years I am a always excited with positive reviews!
Yes, we look small from outside but is very roomy with 4 rooms plus gallery hallway within.
I am SO glad you enjoyed Pure Art! (It is great to note men, as well as women, find our Cayman gifts and collectables "fun shopping").
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    63
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the best place to find handmade stuff from the island. I have been there both times to the Caymans to get the Caymanite jewelry...great price...very beautiful! Hospitality of the owner is the icing on the cake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank beth799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanD, Manager at Pure Art Gallery & Gifts, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am SO glad you enjoyed Pure art in Grand Cayman this 2013! Yes, our local jewelry, especially the CAYMANITE, is just gorgeous and a perfect Caymanian collectable! I hope you may return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice local gifts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A very nice shop with friendly people where you can find locally made goods. They also have some off island goods, but you should be able to figure those out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoalTorrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanD, General Manager at Pure Art Gallery & Gifts, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
SOO glad you enjoyed shopping at Pure Art in Grand Cayman!! We appreciate this positive response...our thanks! We strive to sell as much wonderful local/Cayman gifts and art as possible at reasonable prices too!
Thank you...Pure Art hopes you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Super selection, something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

So glad I twisted my hubby's arm to find this little cottage. After poking around the Georgetown area, this was a welcome change. Pure Art has alot of little nooks and crannies of unique items. I loved the christmas ornaments, very different. The shop has a nice selection of Caymanite jewerly at reasonable prices. It was fun to browse thru the art, lovely collectables. I enjoyed the jewerly selections as well, very wide price ranges made it easy to find something for everyone. You almost have to take one look and go back for seconds so's not to miss a thing. Even while checking out I found something I passed over. The lovely gal working there was super friendly and gave us lots of tips about our stay on the island. She gave each piece of jewerly a certificate with a description of its value to the island. If you don't want cookie-cutter souvenirs, this is your place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanD, Manager at Pure Art Gallery & Gifts, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
WE ...at Pure Art, are delighted your visit with us was positive!! We enjoy working with local / Cayman artists, craft persons...and YOU, our customers! In this economy we stay positive, and am SO glad you enjoyed Pure Art!! We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find in Georgetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Most shopping in Georgetown is geared towards high end jewelry and low end, but overpriced souvenirs. Pure Art is a wonderful alternative. They are relatively close to downtown Georgetown and have their own parking lot. It's definitely close enough to take a cab on a cruise port stop day. They have a vast selection of art in different mediums (paintings, photography, jewelry, furniture, etc.) at reasonable prices. The store owner was very pleasant and helpful as well. Great shopping experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue1685911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaymanD, Manager at Pure Art Gallery & Gifts, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Your July 2012 response to Pure Art SHOPPING "MADE OUR DAY!"
As a small family business, we are so appreciative when you review us positively...because we love what we do, what we sell, the artists we represent, and strive to keep our prices reasonable but our selections excellent!
We hope you may return to Grand Cayman (and Pure Art) sooner than later!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Art Gallery & Gifts also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Pure Art Gallery & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing