We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bio Bay tour- best experience in Grand Cayman

My husband and I went on the Bio Bay tour with Chris and Cam as our guides. It was one of the most... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Erika T
,
Rochester, Michigan
via mobile
Fantastic cruise excursion!!

We just recently completed our 14 night Panama Canal cruise on the Disney Wonder. On our stop at... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MaryInverness
,
Inverness, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 310 reviews
  
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
275
23
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
275
23
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bio bay kayak tour yacht club captain don wet suits bioluminescent creatures dark water pool noodles rash guard grand cayman fish background info arms and legs magical experience snorkel mask stingray city highly recommend this tour
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 310 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Danielle made this trip special. As our guide, she was knowledgeable, professional, attentive and interesting. She had a wealth of information about the plants and ecosystem. The 1 1/2 hours of kayaking was a nice mixture of paddling and learning.

She picked us up at the Marriott and took us to the kayak location, briefed us, and returned us to the hotel. We were gone about 2 3/4 hours. The kayaks were 'sit upons', which were fine for the trip.

We saw lots of marine life, iguanas, and vegetation up close, but didn't see any birds.

One of the nice benefits was that even though we reserved the day before, there were only 4 of us on the trip (2 kayaks) and the price for all that attention was only $40per person.

Thank mjbphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkblue4, Manager at Sea Elements, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for the great review on our tour and our guide extraordinaire, Danielle! We hope to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've had the pleasure of a Sharon and Don tour twice recently! The mangrove tour was given top marks by us all but especially our 10 & 13 year old boys. Sharon's knowledge and passion for science is as infectious as her sense of fun.
The bio tour this evening was out of this world, a totally unique experience. As we arrived at the bay Sharon talked to us about the dinoflagellates (plankton causing bio-luminescence) Then the magic began as we got into the water. Having lived in Grand Cayman and visited a number of other Caribbean islands this was one of the most amazing tours and experiences I have had. There was no rush and we only left Bio Bay when everyone felt they were ready to come out of the water. Sharon and Don are the A Team and not to be missed!

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkblue4, Owner at Sea Elements, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A majestic moonlit cruise, around North Sound and Booby Cay, was a unique way to see this year's "Super Moon", or Perigee Moon as the ever knowledgeable Sharon explained with her usual blend of science and humour.

I hope this was the first of many such trips so that friends and family get the chance to experience it as well!

Thank Gethin_Huckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was impressed with the bioluminesence tour. The tour operators Sharon and Danielle were able to simulaneously be fun but also provide a basic education about how bioluminescence works and provided us with places to go to get further information. Passion about TED lectures is always a plus.

Make sure to stay on the surface while swimming in the "Bio Bay".

Thank William_McCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

During our recent stay on Grand Cayman we did two separate outings with Sea Elements. The first was kayaking in the mangroves with Danielle. The two-person kayaks are easy to navigate and the paddling is not particularly strenuous, even on a hot day. Danielle is very knowledgeable about the mangroves and my teenage sons and I had a lot of fun learning more about that ecosystem, seeing the baby fish in the mangrove roots, touching upside-down jellyfish and spotting crabs and other things. This is an easy, fun trip.

However, the really exciting trip was snorkeling in the bioluminescent bay, one of only a dozen or so sites world-wide where bioluminescent marine plankton thrive in large concentrations. These organisms emit light when disturbed, so boats, paddles and swimming produce fabulous light shows! We had done a similar trip with Cayman Kayaks years ago, kayaking through the bay, but the trip with Sea Elements is a snorkeling trip and snorkeling is much, much better. You can float on the surface and watch an explosion of light when you snap your fingers under water. When you swim, the organisms within a couple of inches of your body create flashes of light with every movement, so you are surrounded with light. We saw a fish go by leaving a trail of light in his wake, and if you looked closely you could see the light produced by the pulsing upside-down jellyfish on the bottom. The bio-bay is shallow and warm, so snorkeling at night is quite comfortable, but Sea Elements does provide 'pool noodles' for those who might want them. Even folks who don't get in the water can have fun watching the bioluminescence around those who do. We did this trip with Sharon and Danielle, and Sharon gave a brief description of the biology of what was happening in the bay. The trip involves a ride across North Sound in a pontoon boat and Sea Elements provided sangria to make the trip more enjoyable. In order to see the bioluminescence it has to be a dark night. They only schedule the trips when the moon is less full, so plan ahead! I've written a bit more about the bio-bay trip because that was so completely new and unique, but both of these trips are highly recommended!

Thank gregeisenhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkblue4, Owner at Sea Elements, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a great review! Thank you for taking both tours with us and for discovering what we think are the two best sites in Cayman. We hope to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews