We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Trips not to be missed”
Review of Sea Elements

Sea Elements
Ranked #15 of 72 Tours in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sea Elements offers an exceptional opportunity for a unique adventure in Cayman's beautiful mangrove forests, Reefs, Stingray City and the very unique BioBay. During the Kayak and Mangrove trips you will learn about this saltwater forest while looking for unique birds, baby fish in the mangrove nursery and iguanas climbing among the tangled roots on our intimate boat tour. Suitable for all ages and families! Follow your guide among the tangled roots and over the seagrass meadows for a mangrove snorkel. Go slow and look for sea squirts, anemones and seahorses! The Stingray City and Reef snorkel tours are limited to small groups on our comfortable and spacious 35ft boat. We go at your pace. Private Charters available at an affordable price. The BioBay tour is a must see! One of only a handful of such bays around the world. We offer a once in a lifetime chance to snorkel in this bay and experience the bioluminescence up close. All tours offer FREE pick up and drop of in the 7MIle Beach area!
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Two Trips not to be missed”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We did two trips with this company:

1) Bioaluminescence - this is a very different experience to one in a kayak. The boat was roomy, Danny the skipper a joy and the trip pretty spectacular made more so by the flying fish. Danny was informative, the swimming at 10pm was like getting into a warm bath and the bioaluminescence itself can only be experienced. Wonderful, wonderful and not to be missed.

2) Mangrove Kayak - This was great. Danielle the guide was gentle in her delivery but very informative. Its a great way to take in the local flora and fauna whilst meandering through the mangroves. If you are in to iguanas then you will see more than your fair share.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    20
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to see a different side of Grand Cayman”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our morning kayak tour with Daniele (sp?). She was so friendly and has such knowledge and passion for what she is teaching. We were picked up right on time at our villa on Seven Mile Beach and icy cold water bottles were provided for the tour. We saw lots of iguanas, jellies, periwinkles, different sponges, fish and the cool squirting sponge things were a favorite of our kids, who are 9, 11, and 13. Everyone was able to enjoy it, from my 9-year old to my 68-year old aunt. It was a nice change from the jet-ski, parasailing, high-adventure crowd that frequents some of the resorts. Very peaceful and beautiful, as well as informative. Thank you for a great morning!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjh40l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I did the bio bay night tour!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was the coolest thing I've ever done in my life!! Danny was fabulous! Very knowledgeable and friendly! He picked us up from our hotel & dropped us off, he captained the boat, and explained things! He also made us some wonderful sangria for the boat ride! The trip was $55 US dollars (which was a great price considering all we got to do!)
The bio bay was unlike anything else I have ever experienced in my life..it was truly magical! As we came into the bay, Danny shut off all the boat lights and the water behind the propellers just started glowing as the bioluminescent bacteria were agitated! *They glow when they are agitated! He also threw in a fishing lure and you could see the trail behind it where it flittered along in the water! You could see little trails in the water as small fish swam away from the boat! We also got to go swimming in the bay, and we made "snow angels" in the water and it just lit up like magic around us! Up this point, it was cool! Then I put a snorkel and mask on...and it blew my mind! As you wiggle your fingers in front of your face, fthousands of the bacteria flash in the water and it looks like your fingers & arms are covered in millions of pieces of glitter! It is the coolest thing ever and everyone should do this!! It's so magical! I could have stayed in the water all night! (The only downside was I got stung by a non-poisonous jellyfish...we were specifically instructed to float on top of the water and NOT put our feet down toward the bottom where the jellies were...it was only maybe 4 feet deep in the bay...but the jellies got churned up and I got stung...totally worth it though, as this was the highlight of my trip to the Cayman islands!) FYI: vinegar helps neutralize jellyfish stings...and Danny had some in a spray bottle on the boat! All in all, this was the most amazing tour I did in Cayman (and in my life, for that matter!) Very cool and you HAVE TO DO THIS!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank werethebrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We did the Bioluminescence tour with Danny. Danny the owner/captain was super knowledgable and willing to share his experiences with our tour. It was a very magical experience for sure. We traveled across the bay in the dark of night to a specific cove where 'friendly' bacteria gathers. Once we anchored Danny showed us how the bacteria actually glows when agitated. he carefully instructed us as to how to swim - not touching the bottom (4ft deep) as to get the best view. We gently lowered ourselves into the water and by just waving your arms lightly, you're surrounded by what looks like pixie dust. Wear goggles because by looking under the surface you will see your feet and legs glow with the gentle movement in the water. The water is about 81 degrees and very soft and relaxing, no worries. Danny then had an app on his Ipad that allowed viewing of the different constellations. He was very patience and offered his knowledge and experience. We were allowed to bring aboard our own 'rum punch' or he had some great sangria but the experience itself needed no alcohol to impress us (althought we didn't say no either). The darker the night the better, the moonlight will wash out the 'glow' so pick a very dark night to go. Danny took his time and didn't rush us thru the experience. It's difficult to photograph due to the lighting but we have the great memories etched in our minds. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time with our guide, Daniele. She was very knowledgeable about the Eco system, wildlife and mangroves. She took a lot of time to ensure everyone was able to enjoy the experience! If you want to see something off the beaten path here is your chance...

Helpful?
Thank Travelmom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Elements also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Sea Elements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing