We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayman Island Boat Rental

Cayman Island Boat Rental
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Cayman boat rentals have been heightened to a fine art by MooreMarine Services. The sense of freedom from owning your boat in the Cayman Islands can now be achieved by every visitor wanting to explore our azure waters.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Definitely see Stingray City and some snorkel spots by a boat of your own. The guys at Moore Marine were fantastic. We had a little boat trouble (anyone who boats knows how that goes) and they came out right away with a replacement boat that was an upgrade. Our family had a great time and we were able to spend as much time as we wanted at the sites. An unforgettable day!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    9
    2
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Got BOAT? Moore Marine Boat Rental!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

CJ at Moore Marine and I were in contact via email for a month prior to our arrival at Grand Cayman. He was patient and thorough. My family of four with daughters 16 & 13 had initially reserved a boat for Saturday, but two days of higher winds made me nervous. CJ switched our reservation for Sunday, no problem at all! We arrived at the launch ramp and our boat was already in the water, ready to go. Willis greeted us and showed us around the boat. There was no chart onboard, so Willis let me borrow his GPS. Frankly we didn't need it. He showed us the easiest was to get to Stingray city, and we anchored there with no problem. What a visit!!! With your own boat, you can relax and stay as long as you like. The tours came and went, very quick visits. We ended up staying there for three hours, had some lunch and swam with the rays again. I recommend you bring bait to feed the rays! As an aside, the tour boats will back down right next to you.... They are friendly, but this is their business... So you are kinda in their way. It was okay, just be prepared to move if you get uncomfortable.

After this we just moved 100 yards and anchored right on the reef. We spent the next two hours snorkeling and my daughters LOVED it. Using their iPhone with waterproof case they were able to get awesome pics and video. A huge green moray was their highlight! But fish, crab and lobster were all over the reef. Spectacular!

This was MY highlight on vacation as I love boating and love being Captain. I would absolutely recommend Moore Marine, and will call on them when we return to Grand Cayman. Thank you CJ and Willis!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moore Marine Boat Rental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The best day by far was renting a watercraft from Moore Marine! This was my second visit to the beautiful island of Grand Cayman and by far the best.. I decided to rent a boat after doing the charter thing and had an ok experience catching fish and seeing the sites. I have to say that at first there was a mix up with our paper work, but CJ was a professional about the issue and worked it out in my favor of an upgrade from the 18' bow rider to the 20' for no charge and with some minor instructions our adventure began at Stingray city then fishing at the reef and trolling for whatever that would come up from the depths for a bit.. The experience was fantastic and highly recommendable to anyone visiting and looking for the freedom of being on the waters and navigating your way on your own time to deal with CJ at Moore Marine... You guys are doing a wonderful job down there, keep it up!!

Randall and Rachel

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vandall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjCaymanIslands, Manager at Cayman Island Boat Rental, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We Are great full for your review and are very happy that we were able to be part of the highlight of your trip during your visit to our beautiful island.
We look forward to seeing you and your in the near feature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to see the water sites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I love the water but did not like the idea of being on a crowded boat with dozens of other people as we went to visit Stingray City, Starfish Point, and a handful of other "must see" experiences while in the Caymans. If you like boating, this is really the only way to go.

Renting a boat from Moore Marine was the best experience. From working with C.J. to secure the rental, to dropping it off, the entire process was seamless and easy. We rented the smallest boat and Ricardo, perhaps one of the friendliest and nicest people we met during our ENTIRE island stay, gave us the whole overview of the area and made some great recommendations.

We went to Stingray City, and because there were so many groups there, we anchored out a bit and got to see some beautiful things in the sand bar before we went into the area to experience the rays. Then we went off to Starfish Point, Kaibo, and the little sound area to see other great snorkeling places.

In the end, having our own private boat for 6 hours cost us hardly anything more than what it would have cost us to go on the charters AND we got to do it on our own schedule. We stayed where we wanted how long we wanted. Our preference leans toward more independent, less "touristy" activity, so this was a great way to still see the hot water spots without being trapped on a guide schedule, pack our own lunch, and just experience the island life and water.

I wouldn't hesitate to rent from Cayman Island Boat Rental/Moore Marine again and plan to make it one of the first things we book when we come back to the island again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Annalise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjCaymanIslands, General Manager at Cayman Island Boat Rental, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very please to know that you look forward to coming back to our beautiful islands and we at CIBR look forward to seeing and serving you again. Season Greeting to you and your family and a blessed New Year.

Thank You
Cj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best day of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were visiting just for a day on a Caribbean Cruise. Instead of doing an excursion through the cruise line, we priced doing our own thing with the friends we were traveling with. After a lot of web searching we chose to go with a boat rental from MooreMarine; best decision we could have ever made. They gave excellent advise on what to do and where to go. The customer service was amazing and all the people we met or spoke to were so friendly. We got to spend more time snorkeling in sting ray city and around the reef than we would have with the huge tour group and had the freedom and flexibility to go at our own pace. After snorkeling and enjoying the boat we were able to stop off at Kaibo at Rum Point for a quick bite and a drink. It was absolutely the best part of our vacation and can't wait to go back!

T&A Houston TX

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Inhoustontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Island Boat Rental also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Island Boat Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing