We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diving is a must”

Don Foster's Dive Cayman
Ranked #6 of 70 Tours in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DON FOSTER'S DIVE CAYMAN is a full-service dive operation in the Cayman Islands. Established on Grand Cayman since 1982 and located on the waterfront 3/10 mile south of George Town, Don Foster’s is fronted by Casuarina Point Reef, where you will find excellent shore diving and snorkeling. We have a large dive shop offering dive and snorkel gear rental, t-shirts, souvenirs, drinks and snacks. Our boat diving package rates are the lowest on the island and we will work with you to make your diving experience memorable, whether you want to dive a lot (check out 20-tank special) or a little. Don Foster’s Dive is the place to go for experience, excellent customer service and a great dive experience.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diving is a must”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visiting the Cayman islands was an experience in itself a very attractive island with plenty to see and do, but most of all the diving and snorkelling with Don Fosters staff was incredible. We went out to stingray city and Coral gardens twice because it was so good and so safe . Everyone of the staff was so friendly and made you feel at ease with the stingrays swinging with you, also very caring about the rays and the surrounding environment. We also visited some very nice dinner places Luca was one of them for Sunday brunch and Agua was the other for the same
sort of thing. Night dive on submarine to 104ft was brilliant with plenty of fish to see and wonderful coral. Seeing a small sea turtle surfacing from one of Don Fosters boats and then diving to 60ft was cute. All in all it was a paradise island and an unforgettable experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    49
    12
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“USS Kittiwake snorkel”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This trip was wonderful! It was well worth the money we spent, which was not expensive. The ship wreck was very interesting and then seeing a reef afterwards made it even more wonderful. You were up close with the fish as well as the sunken ship. The crew was wonderful as well. They were concerned about our safety and had even given us some tips on what else to see. Fun for the whole family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Get A Dive Guide that Knows the Reef!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This makes 3 times I have dove with Don Fosters but this is the first time I had dive guides who did not know the reef. Several dives that week we would drop at sites and go around the same finger probably 3 times or more beating in our time. Trinity caves was the worst! I had waited and requested it all week and when it was finally open our guide took us through 1 cave and then circled the top of the reef the rest of the dive. His excuse for not knowing the reef, "I like to go really slow" . Trinity caves has amazing swim thrus with one cave in particular. It has a huge opening once inside like a cathedral ceiling where fish circle the ceiling. Didn't get to go through It though this trip but if you go be sure and ask for that dive with someone who knows how to find it. I just think the dive guides for those days were "green" and did not know the reef. The days we had experienced dive guides went great! William, Matt and Johnny were the BEST! The staff at the shop were very helpful especially Sergio. He set us up with Johnny who took us to the Devils Grotto and we were treated to a special day with the silversides. Sally at the shop was really nice and helpful as well. All the staff were really nice, friendly, and helpful but they really need to make sure the guides on some of the dives know the reef. I will go back to Don Foster If I am in the Cayman Island though becasue a few "bad apples" does not spoil the whole bunch! My good times and good treatment of staff out weigh the few bad dives.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiveGirlky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dive Shop”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very well organized and friendly operation. They went out of their way to accommodate us a new divers and were very professional. Rental gear was readily available and in good shops. The instructors and guides were fantastic. Sergio, Jessica, Matt, Spence, Lucy, Cally, Sally and the rest of the gang made us feel like family.

Also, there is world class shore diving right out the front door of the shop!

Highly recommend!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPM244104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonFostersDive, Front Office Manager at Don Foster's Dive Cayman, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your great comments. We are so glad you had a good time. We love to show people our lovely Cayman reefs and we sure hope you'll come back to see more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better then we expected!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just came back from a cruise where we went to Stingray city with Don Fosters. Even though the weather was awful, they still managed to be super upbeat and made sure we had a great time. They took us to Stingray city and then to snorkel at a coral reef nearby. They were very hands on and informative with all the information we needed. Plus when we were in the water they made sure to teach everyone about the sting rays and let everyone who wanted to have a chance hold on. We didnt see any other boats doing what they did. definitely a highlight of our trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonFostersDive, Front Office Manager at Don Foster's Dive Cayman, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
The stingrays are one of Cayman's most important assets. We're so glad you enjoyed seeing and learning about them and thanks for your good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Foster's Dive Cayman also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Don Foster's Dive Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing