We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Day with Gil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe Tourist Cave Tour

Joe Tourist Cave Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, AZ
1 review
“Awesome Day with Gil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

JoeTourist (i.e. Gil) is a funny guy that knows a tremendous amount about Grand Cayman and also about the region in general. His journalistic experience locally enabled us to ask many questions and learn a lot. Gil's tour was very fun. We did a custom tour with Snorkelling, saw many parts of the island and really enjoyed the authentic lunch including our first try at turtle (which was very good and didn't taste like chicken). I would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants to have fun and learn about your surroundings at the same time.
"The Woodburn family from Arizona"

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertandDjuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    7
    0
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida, United States
1 review
“fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a great time with our friends Terry & Pattie from Pa. Joe always does a great tour. Especially enjoyed the caves by the water. Will certainly plan another tour when we return to the island. Joe is very knowledgeable about the island & surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Joe tourist has all the local knowledge to provide an experience you could not have on your own. We all loved it!😎”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Great job
Saw parts of the island that were off the breaten path.
Joe provides the knowledge and colorful background
Terry

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bamsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Way to See the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We met Gilbert (Joe Tourist) at our condo (Grand Caymanian) during the island attractions event. We spent the day with him later in the week. Met at hsi place sampled fresh Mango from the tree. Looked at local flowers and trees. then went out on the road. went snorkling at Bodden Beach. Say a good sized eagle ray in less than 6 feet of water. Had a snack at a local jerk food place and then went for a hike on the Nature Trail.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonGebhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best local trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I along with our best friends spent the day with Gilbert of Joe tourist tours. Being a culture and history buff he was great, pointing out the little things that most people pass by on their way to the "attractions" that the ships reccomend. We were treated to a local perspective and snorkled in a local bay, learned about the British influence and history, The local floura and fauna. We got to learn the culture from a real local and hear his point of view without the whitewash you normally get from scripted tourism. The lunch we were served was a mix of local food, turtle, mahi mahi, conch and good sides like rice and beans with steamed vegetables. The setting was a really nice roadside cafe with flare. The ending was a sunset and cave exploration of a private beach. Only concern there was accessability was a bit challenging for less agile folks and getting wet is the only option. All in all a great day....would do it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbsb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Tourist Cave Tour also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
North Side, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Joe Tourist Cave Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing