We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
38
25
6
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
25
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smith cove guest house sunset house shared kitchen rental car quiet neighborhood bring earplugs off the beaten path local hospitality minute walk comfortable stay a great place to stay full kitchen would definitely stay here again beach towels camana bay rum point
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 77 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed last year in October and loved it Apt #1. Brought my daughter this year and simply had great experience again. Apartment fully equipped and cooked most days and nights. They had barbecue availability this year great use. Pool wasn't as clean first 2 days disappointed but problem solved when pool man came around. Once again if needed anything asked and received. Clean apartment and comfortable once again felt safe and like home. Tutti came around last day with her great bean salad and recipe. ..thank you!!!! Everything close and walking distance to town. Once again in love with Cayman...my home away from home....will be back next year!!!!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank rhaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Thanks so much for your kind review as it is always appreciated by us to have our guests take the time to post a review about our property and ourselves.
Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Much blessings. Tootie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015

We are so excited to have found the perfect place. We are divers and have traveled the Caribbean Islands for the past 14 years. Eldemire's is exactly what we want when we are on our vacation. The location is absolutely the best for accessibility to all the tourists attractions but with the quiet atmosphere you want in order to relax. Our accommodations were clean, quiet, beautifully decorated, and reasonably priced. We were able to cook our own meals (grocery stores everywhere with all the items you find in markets in the U.S.) thus saving money. Eldemire's is located just a couple blocks from Sunset House, Don Foster's Dive shop, and the Turtle Farm, so fabulous diving was at our fingertips. We did 5 boat dives and 4 shore dives this trip and it was great coming back to our apartment where we could grab a light lunch and head back to the ocean for more diving. We are planning to return again in about 6 months since we love it so much. We absolutely LOVE Eldemire's. It's our favorite place in the whole Caribbean. Thank you for a great vacation.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deejay5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

My husband and I are divers and have been to Grand Cayman Island 11 times in the last 20 years. Once we found Eldemire's we don't want to stay anywhere else! We have stayed 9 times, in June we stayed 10 nights! We always go back because we know we will receive a clean apartment or room off the beaten path in a true island atmosphere. We enjoy having a kitchen, air, clean comfortable bed, internet service, and TV (which we seldom turn on). The pool is always clean and refreshing when you just want to wind down after a day of diving. The service is always friendly and fast to see to your needs. It is less than a 10 minute walk to Smith Cove and 5 minute drive into George Town. Since we dive, it is convenient to all our needs to enjoy our diving vacation. Tootie, Bob and Elaina run the Inn together and they are a wonderful family and team with a warm welcome each time we stay!

Room tip: You will love Eldemire's if you want a true tropical experience!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JEBM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

I stayed here for 8 nights and absolutely loved it! The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were clean and fresh, perfect for my stay. Tootie and Bob are really lovely people, so welcoming and friendly, they even showed me around thier home and cooked me dinner! Tootie helped me arrange to go diving and get involved with other trips on the island. The location of the guesthouse is perfect, just minutes away from Smith Cove (Google it - a beautiful secluded bit of beach which is also good for snorkeling!) as well as being across the road from 'sunset bar' which was a little bar with good food and friendly people, I went here most nights. The 7 mile beach is around a 20-30 minute walk away - just one straight road. Although cayman buses (little minibus) go past regularly and offer you a lift for just a couple of cayman dollars. I would really recommend staying here, the price is also great in comparison with the island and its really a one of a kind place on a beautiful island!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

My girl friend stopped here for two nights and will never go back so let's see the kitchen was full of cockroaches the ac was just worse than useless the manager was rude when they pick up the phone this place should be closed down also an issue with a smoke alarm when the toaster went nuts this place is not fit for a dog

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank markktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Sir,
I am unable to find where someone came and stayed only 2 nights as our minimum booking period is 3 nights. Maybe you stayed somewhere else and not with us?
If perchance you did stay, we do not recollect any complaints made to us by you and we are always very strong in encouraging our guests, when they check in, let us know if they need. You mentioned that we were rude to you? I do not know who you speak of that was rude as we are always courteous and our policy is.. "the guest is always right" even if they are wrong.
We investigated the smoke detector in the kitchen, and all is working well. It is their for our guests' safety and yes it will go off if someone is burning toast or food.
Roaches in the kitchen? We do our regular maintenance spraying often for inspects of any kind. If you had told us that you had seen anything, we would have reacted immediately to correct the issue.
Much blessings.
Sincerely,
Tootie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews