We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids, but a waste for adults” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Submarines

Atlantis Submarines
Book In Advance
$108.99*
and up
Atlantis Submarine Expedition - Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Atlantis Submarines Cayman provides entertaining underwater tours for all ages.Our Atlantis Submarine dives to 100 feet, while our Seaworld Observatory operates on the surface only.Guests must be 4 years old and 3 feet tall to take the submarine excursion, but all ages are welcome on the Seaworld Observatory
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
houston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for kids, but a waste for adults”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We went on five excursions during our week in Cayman and this was the only one that we did not like. We were able to see better during scuba and snuba outings. Our sub was not even half filled so they wanted you to climb across the long bench as the sites moved from side to side. I am mid-30s, and even I was not in the mood to crawl across the the bumpy seats as they wanted. That was somewhat annoying, but the worst was that I was at the very back of the sub and got to listen to the "2nd officer" chat on a personal conversation throughout the trip. I could barely hear what was being said over the speakers. The laughing and talking made me regret spending 198 for 2 of us. If you decide to go on this- avoid the back of the boat. If you can snuba or scuba - both cheaper and better sights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank quju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    122
    40
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view of the reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were lucky on our trip, as we only had 17 people on board. This meant that there was no need to cruise both side of the sub, so we got an extended reef tour. We got to see lots of local sea life as well as enjoying the reef itself. The trip took us down to a little over 100 feet which was really neat. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the sea life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom and Carin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“For those who don't scuba dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I don't scuba dive. In order for us to see a coral reef this voyage became a must. A wide variety of fish and coral are on display and if you are lucky you might see a ray and a sea turtle. The water is crystal clear and the colours exhibited are wonderful.
Viewings cannot be guaranteed, of course. Our guide was excellent and had a great sense of humour. Remember, there are no toilet facilities either on the launch that takes you to the submarine or on the submarine itself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Well done although the humor of the staff was tired and lame. Would have been much better experience with more information or some newer material. The submarine is comfortable and well maintained. I felt safe the entire cruise. Good visibility and many things to see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BGaines823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time! Must do!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We went on our own at Georgetown and this was my first time to Grand Cayman. Was a little disappointed with the island, but the Atlantis submarine excursion was a pleasant surprise.

The crew were all very friendly and seemed to know their stuff. They have an impeccable safety record according to them as well. The trip was about an hour long and we got down to over 100ft deep. I would highly recommend giving them a try, especially if you or someone in your party has never been.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLeo237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Atlantis Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing