We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent shore snorkeling”

Eden Rock Diving Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cayman's Best Shore Diving Cayman’s best value 2 tank dive! Eden Rock Diving Center is situated a short swim from two of the world’s best shore dives Eden Rock and Devil’s Grotto. The coral reefs rise in vertical cliff faces from a 40 foot sand bottom to within a few feet from the surface. Both Eden Rock and Devil’s Grotto are honey combed with caves, tunnels and grottos inhabited by many tropical fish, coral and sponges including Silversides and Tarpon. The entry is down a diving ladder is into 4 feet of clear and calm Cayman water the bottom gently slopes out to 15 feet the rises to within a few feet of the surface before dropping to a sand bottom. There are many tunnels running through the reef with openings in the coral allowing sunbeams to light the way.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent shore snorkeling”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have shore snorkeled all over Grand Cayman. This was by far our favorite. We pulled into Eden Rock's spacious parking lot (by George Town standards) walked in, rented a locker for CI$4 and US$10 deposit and then used their facilities. The reef is amazing, great size and depth with crystal clear waters and tons of fish. The only drawback was a lot of jellyfish on the day we were there, so wetsuits would have been handy. Ladders for easy entrance to the water, tank for rinsing gear and shower for rinsing off after. All for a reasonable locker rental fee. If you dont have your own gear, they have rentals. Plus, it appears they do a very good scuba training business, although we did not try scuba. A must see shore snorkel in GC!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sengar411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    75
    25
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling area”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Eden Rock has all of your dive needs but there is also a great snorkeling spot right off of the dock. Very inexpensive dive shop and there is a good reef with plenty of fish. If you swim just 200 yds up the beach you will be in front of the paradise grill where they feed tarpon and you can swim in schools of 40 - 70lb tarpon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMcDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
548 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Really good shore diving”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was an excellent two tank shore dive. Lots of rocks, reefs, and caves full of sea life. Unfortunately, the day I dove we didn't see any really fun stuff like eels, rays, turtles, etc. But lots of tarpon and the usual caribbean fish.

I got lucky - it was just Chris, the dive master, and me for the first dive. Although skeptical at first - we were only diving about 100 - 150 yards offshore, I had a blast. We snorkeled out and descended in about 15 feet of water. From there you couldn't tell the difference in a boat dive and shore dive. Plenty of things to see and with a depth of no more than 50 feet had almost an hour of bottom time. We really could have stayed down longer, surfaced with over 1000 lbs of air, but had pretty much exhausted the site.

The second dive Chris had somebody to take but was okay with me trailing since we had dove together earlier. Pretty much the same kind of dive although it was a different site.

The service was first class and Chris was an excellent guide and divemaster. The price was definitely right and the dives were very good. Another day would have seen the cool stuff, but that's diving. Eden Rock comes highly recommended from this diver of over 300 dives.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Snorkeling Spot”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

You don't need to be a diver to enjoy this magnificent area. Chris and his staff at the dive center are very nice and have provided several picnic tables, a rinsing area, a large cement platform to assemble your gear and two sets of stairs that take you into the water. They will direct you to the reef, give you pointers and if you have your own gear, there isn't any charge. If you need gear, they have it available to rent. The reef is marked with buoy and the cruise ships will be right in the area. The numbers of fish is amazing and the coral is spectacular. It has been described as being in an aquarium and we found that to be a good description. You can parallel the coastline and run into Devil's Grotto as well as a few other reefs. Our group loved this area so much we visited it twice. Its easy access in Georgetown would make it ideal for anyone on the cruise ships. We were staying on the island and utilized the buses to take us there from Seven Mile Beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great swim throughs and great staff”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Worked with Chris and his crew while there on a Dive Store trip with Adventures in Scuba from Calgary, Alberta. Dive sites - both Eden Rock and Devil's Grotto are beautiful, easy dives. Love the swim throughs and the Tarpon. Definitely should be on your list of places to dive in Grand Cayman.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden Rock Diving Center also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Eden Rock Diving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing