We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
386
167
57
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
167
57
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shore diving dive staff cathy church dive shop great dive mermaid statue dive sites dive trip sea pool underwater photography morning boat grand cayman experienced divers dive locker rental gear diving package stingray city
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just came back from 8 days at Sunset House and I loved it all ! The dive masters were fantastic and very knowledgeable. They were very helpful with setting up gear and showing us fantastic things underwater. The dive sites themselves were awesome, my favorites being La Mesa and Devils Grato.
The shore dives were better than I could have imagined. Being able to grab a tank and going out any time I wanted in the afternoon or evening was awesome. There was tons of beautiful reefs and great sea life.
I would strongly suggest getting a ocean view room, while the rooms were very basic, the view of the ocean was breathtaking.
When we were not diving, we spent the majority of our time at My Bar. The food, view, and atmosphere was fantastic !
For anyone heading to Grand Cayman, this place is a must to stay, and I can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello EricB
We are so happy to read that you loved staying at Sunset House and we are so lucky to have an amazing dive team here. MyBar is certainly a great place to hang out after your dives. We look forward to having you back diving with us very soon.
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Great people, decent service, the best views every night and great shore diving. Awesome house reef! Loved the sunsets during dinner and the lively bar every evening. Never wanted to go anywhere else on the island. It was perfect. Can't wait to plan another Cayman trip to the Sunset House!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myhome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you myhome7 for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate it. Have you planned your next trip yet? We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

My husband and I spent 10 days here with an all inclusive package. The resort and staff were all friendly, helpful and accomodating. This is an excellent resort that caters to divers and hosts an on site scuba certification program. Daily boat dives with experienced, dedicated dive instructors and staff. We will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Amanda D
Thank you very much for this amazing review. It is super to read that our staff were all friendly, helpful & accommodating. We love to show our guests some Caymankind. Come back soon!
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

I am an instructor and just returned from Grand Cayman and the Sunset House with a group of 20 divers. I had a blast. We were divided into two groups for the boat dives every morning assuring lots of space to spread out on the boat. Our Captains and Divemasters were all top notch. Shout out to Phil, Veronica and Reid! The diving is very similar to Bonaire or Utilla...shallow reef close to shore which leads to a drop off for wall-dive possibilities. The boat took us to some great spots including Devil's Grotto which looked like it could be the set for a live version of "The Little Mermaid." The wrecks we saw were fantastic for tourists...lots of growth on the Doc Paulson with an easy swim-through...and the Kittiwake is like a three level playground which, despite being covered in divers the day we were there, was still roomy enough for our boat of 10.

The shore dive situation is outstanding. Grab a buddy and a tank and head into the water for the House Reef. I did afternoon and night dives almost every day. On our last day, Dive Team manager, Aaron, suggested we try a dawn dive. We woke up at 4:30, got in the water at 5:00 when it was still dark and watched the reef change throughout our peaceful, super-chill one-hour dive. Throughout the week, just on the house reef we saw barracuda, rays, octopus, squid, turtles and my new favorite fish, the masked hamlet...I call it the panda fish.

The food and bar were good enough that I never left the resort the whole time I was on Grand Cayman and the staff was attentive and friendly. My room was clean the bed was super comfortable...I want to buy those pillows...where do I get them!?

One last word...the gimmick they use for the dive briefings here was fantastic. I won't give it away but I can tell you that people understood the dive sites way more than I've ever experienced and it was humorous and original...at least I've never seen it done anywhere like this before and I'm pretty well travelled.

Room Tip: The sunsets are spectacular here so a room with a view is worth the money!
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T. Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

We are so glad that you had a great stay with us. We hope that you come back again. If you do, we will let you know where we get our pillows from ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

Sunset House is the best dive resort. The diving itself is phenomenal, the rooms are clean and spacious, the resort is beautiful and the staff is warm, welcoming, professional, knowledgeable, and really fun. Special thanks goes to divemasters Reid, Veronica, Tibor and Tyler for being exceptional guides and staff, and really kind people. I definitely recommend Sunset House to any diver looking for a great dive vacation.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank RivkaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thanks for your kind words. One of the best things about Sunset is the team we having working here. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews