We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Tanks available for outside Divers”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No Tanks available for outside Divers”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have organized a photo shoot for today.
Even though I was told the reef there was in pretty bad shape by multiple instructors working on the island, we decided to do a quick photo-shoot.
My plan was to shoot a model next to the Mermaid statue, they have on their house reef.
The other attraction I wanted to catch was the submarine which passes by few times a day.

I called the submarine company to confirm their times and location of the passing the day before.

I called Sunset House Dive shop an hour before we arrived to check on conditions.
I was told there was a little current but the diving was great.

When my model and I arrived we were told there were no tanks available.
No Nitrox. No air. Simply NO TANKS for outside customers for at least two hours.

That would already be after the last submarine passed and we also had other plans for the afternoon.
We were told we were not allowed to bring our own tanks either.

I am marking Sunset House with the lowest ratting as I feel that a dive shop not being able to rent dive tanks is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Petpon,

I am sorry for your disappointment in not being able to shore dive from our shore on Wednesday. As General Manager here at the resort, it is my due diligence to comment on your accusations and apologise to all our wonderful guests that I can't seem to find the time to respond to all. For our wonderful Guests here at Sunset House, Karin and I (oh, and Murphy) cannot thank you enough for your great reviews!

You start out saying that you "organised" a photo shoot at Sunset House. Yet, you never called to set up tanks or see if tanks were available in advance. We are very busy this week with guests who are on packages here at Sunset House. This will always be fact, we will cater to our own first, outside business second.

While we value everyones business and you would think that having over 400 tanks at our disposal, that we would be able to cover everyone, but when we are full, we cannot accommodate all.

In future, since you called to make sure the Sub would be going out (which was South of us). While you called us to check on conditions, maybe let us know you are organising a photo shoot and reserve tanks for such an important occasion.

These scenarios don't happen often, but can... And rest assured, all our Trip Advisor fans and guests, of who this Trip Advisor page is meant for, we will have tanks, weights, equipment or anything you need for a fantastic dive vacation.

And by the way, Petpon, our reef is in quite remarkable shape! Just ask any of our guests who dive it complimentary throughout their stay! No need to be slanderous in your remarks, because of your lack of attention to detail in organisation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    150
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
97
158
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just spent a week at the Sunset House. This was my 4th visit but the first time since Keith Sahm became the manager. Keith, Karin and Murphy :) greet and treat you like family. This was my first visit since the oceanview rooms were renovated and we really liked the upgrades and improvements. Having safes and hair dryers in the rooms is helpful. The bathroom renovations were well done.

The dive staff was very professional and brought us to nice dive sites. They asked for requests and many people on our boat did not like wrecks, so we did not visit any on the morning dives, I did revisit the Kittiwake, which i had Iooked forward to doing so I was good with wrecks.

As always, the food is very good at the Seaharvest and My Bar. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful everywhere on this property, including Cathy Church's Underwater Photo Shop!

Although I like to try different diving destinations, there are so many good things about the sunset house experience that compel me to return, and I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: would recommend an oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks ScubaD! It was great seeing you again and we look forward to diving with you again! We have not slowed down since you left and are continuing to do upgrades around the resort! We are finishing up a big landscaping project this week. Look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canovanas, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a great week-long dive vacation at Sunset House, Georgetown, Cayman Islands. The room was clean and large. Check in was fast and efficient, and friendly. Two outstanding notes go to Sunset Divers, the in-house dive operation: Charlotte and Laurie got us checked in and set up quickly and cheerfully. Aaron, Roger, Rhys, Simon, Pete, Robb led fantastic boat dives; the second was to the crew at Seaharvest Restaurant, especially Troy, and Tracy - by day two they had our names and room numbers memorized. The staff at My Bar, were warm and wonderful (thanks for all the matches, guys!) Tessa in the gift shop was sweet and helpful. Tienes (I may not be spelling that correctly) at the photo shop/gallery - a must see on its own - was extraordinarily helpful with me, the NOVICE photographer. I'll be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnB585640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Thank you, Keith and Karin, for the wonderful food, service, and diving at your resort ! Our adventure started out with a very cheery greeting from " Sunshine " ( Jennifer ) and the friendly service continued on with Olga, Jose, and the rest of your restaurant staff ! The menu had a very nice variety available, with something for everyone ! The rooms were neat and clean, and kept-up every day ! For us " middle-aged dive-addicts ", nothing could beat the dive operation and awesome staff ! Pete, Roger, Lowri, Charlotte, Rhys, Stephen and all were the best and friendliest in the Caribbean ! Their knowledge and expertise ensured that our dives, especially on Big Tunnels and The Kittiwake, were magnificent every time ! This is a " must visit " resort for SCUBA divers who would really like to be spoiled !!

Room Tip: The " Ocean View Rooms " with fridge/microwave/ironing board/hair dryer/ marble and tile b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are two PADI Advanced divers, with more than 200 dives each. Our experience at Sunset House has been wonderful, and I highly recommend this dive center to anyone! Over the last three years, we have done 10 dive trips, all in different locations, and this is bar far the best experience we had.
We stayed at Sunset House for two weeks and did 42 dives each during our stay. Our package included two boat dives in the morning, and unlimited shore dives. The dive shop also offers boat dives to Stingray City and Kittiwake wreck, as well as night dives a several times per week. We went to Stingray city as you have to go there once in your life, but this was not the best part of the trip, as we prefer to see wildlife in their normal environment.
THE CREW
We mostly dove with Pete and Rhys. Both are extremely knowledgeable and highly professional. They are passionate by what they do and the energy of the team is fantastic. They gave us detailed dive plans every day, including safety on the boat, drawings of the dive sites, and detailed information on the specific fish and coral types that could be found in a specific dive site. They always offered shallow and deep dive profiles on the first dive of the day, to make sure that everyone was comfortable based on their level of experience. They also asked everyone if we had any special request for a dive site.
Underwater, they made special effort to point out interesting things to all, showing genuine interest in what they do. (At the end of a dive, Pete showed me a yellow head jawfish with eggs in his mouth, and it took me 10 minutes to be able to take a picture of it. He stayed nearby, and I could see the smile on his face when he saw that I got a good picture). As we stayed for two weeks, we saw lots of people come and go, and it was amazing to see that even on day one, each individual was greeted by their first name on the boat, making us all feel special, and not just numbers. During surface interval, they always changed our gears and stayed with us to discuss about our dive. I only have good things to say about them, as well as of the other divemasters we dove with (Rob, Lee and Aaron). Special thanks also to Laurie, who always helped us with the logistics, and with a great big smile in her face.
I wish I could go diving next week with them… We both felt like members of their family. My only regret: I should have spent more time learning underwater photography with Cathy Church… Well, next time because we will be back.
Guy and Patricia

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaAllaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked this hotel in conjunction with Cathy Church Photo Center. The hotel was clean and well appointed if a little on the small size. It was walking distance to the restaruant also above good and to the dive center and then the photo center.
Normal amenities, good bed/linen, everything worked,

Room Tip: Ocean side definitely had great views and was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I LOVED staying and diving at the Sunset House. Everyone is VERY nice. Our dive captain was excellent - his name was Rob, and I really, really enjoyed being around him. There was also a gentleman named Troy, who worked at the restaurant, who was great. If you are into diving and want a dive spot that is truly devoted to diving, this is the place to go. And I HIGHLY advise you to try and find Rob if you can and he is still working there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlCeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
405 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,191 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing