We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive hotel”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here MAR '12, will be going back MAR '13 for week of diving. Great location, great diving, friendly staff, good restaurant on site. Very close to Georgetown. While it is not the fanciest hotel on the island, divers will appreciate it as a Diver's hotel. Wifi was spotty, if that is important to you. It is not "valet" diving. You bring your gear from te lockers to the boat, but the walk is short. Diver masters and crew were great and very helpful getting you back on the boat and getting BCD/tank off. Large boats with ladders for getting back on board. I would reccomend for anyone looking to dive Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scupper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Sunset House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 551 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sunset House is an amazing place. The diving shop is great - people are professional and friendly, the equipment is good, the shore diving is beautiful and everyone will try to make you have as great an experience as possible. The hotel has amazing views and a wonderful restaurant right by the sea shore. The food is delicious, the rooms are nice and clean and the hosts are amazing. I will definitely come back again and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have balconies with an amazing view :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous12094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our group of 18 visited Sunset House last week. All the feedback that I've been getting is that they really enjoyed the place. We had a block of ocean view rooms. With us all together and picnic tables, lawn chairs, and a hammock out front it was a good place to gather and watch the beautiful sunsets. "My Bar" was another popular place to meet. I got quite a few "I love My Bar" comments. We'd gather for a drink, a meal, to check the internet, or just visit and watch the sun set. The pool was clean and another nice place to hang out.
Our room was clean. The railing on our private deck worked well for drying towels & dive gear. The oceanview rooms had microwave ovens and refrigerators. We picked up a few groceries at the local supermarket which helped keep our meal costs down.
Diving was good as always in the Caymans. It was easy to get on and off the boat from shore. Getting back on the boat from the water would have been a little easier with two hand holds instead of one in the center of the boat especially when the boat was rocking. The crew was very good at helping though. As Great Lakes Shipwreck Divers we enjoyed the Kittiwake wreck dive. My son loved Stingray City. We had pretty much the same dive crew all week which was nice. They were helpful and entertaining.
At the end of the week the seas got rough but we were able to get in all of our dives. They put us in a small bus and took us to the South Shore.
Everyone working at the resort that I came in contact with was friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMGScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed at Sunset House on seven different occasions from 2008-2012, and I will continue going back. I love it. Love it, love it, love it.

Sunset House is a dive hotel. If you are not coming to Grand Cayman to dive, I recommend that you stay elsewhere. However, if diving is the primary purpose for your trip, then this is your place.

First, the dive shop and staff is wonderful. Pete runs a friendly and efficient operation. His staff is knowledgeable and the absolute best group of dive instructors anywhere. They run daily two-tank boats every morning around 8:15 am. They can provide any level of instruction, and I have taken several classes from them -- Advanced, Nitrox, and Rescue Diver. They have my highest recommendation.

After the morning boat dives, you'll want to eat lunch at MyBar (1st place in Scuba Diving Magazine's Top 100 Best Dive Bar category) . The food is wonderful, and the view is amazing (especially at sunset since the ocean-front, open-air bar faces west). I usually eat every lunch and dinner of my trip here, and breakfast at the hotel restaurant is included in many packages.

Then you've got the afternoon and evening shore dives. You can literally walk 40 yards from the dive shop and jump in the water. There is lots to see -- the cruise ship anchor, the Nicholson wreck, and the world-famous mermaid. And a great reef and the wall. Many locals come to Sunset House to dive.

The rooms are not as luxurious as other resorts, and there is no white, sandy beach to lounge (but there is a pool). Otherwise, Sunset House is perfect. Love it.

Room Tip: I don't spend much time in the room since I'm either diving or at MyBar. I always stay in t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks Robb,

We look forward to seeing you again soon... With Non Stop flights on Cayman Airways out of ORD and great air prices, we hope that your return is sooner than later.

All the best,

Keith E Sahm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There are 2 different aspects to this resort:
1- The diving (Excellent)
2- The accommodations (Poor)
The Diving:
Amazing dive location! Unlimited free shore dives is a dream come true, with unlimited free air tanks (80 cu ft)! Convenient, guided, and safe boat dives. Incredibly friendly & knowledgeable dive professionals. Even when bad weather crept up, the staff knew when to close and then reopen the shore diving. Free lockers available for dive gear. A big tub for rinsing dive gear. Lots and lots of areas for drying the gear in the sun!
The Accommodations:
Well maintained landscape. Clean swimming pool with adequate space for sunning and relaxing. Waterfront rooms have the basic necessities, we were told by some guests. Because of last minute reservations, my brother and I ended up staying in a courtyard room. No coffeemaker, safe, hairdryer, or iron in any of these courtyard rooms! Common Really?
However, when I asked, I was lucky to get the last iron & board, & hairdryer! Had our coffee with the morning breakfast at the restaurant, which had good food and service.
Checked in on Friday with no Internet service except at the bar "My Bar". Checked out on Wednesday to fly to Little Cayman, and still no Internet but at the bar. To us, and most guests, it's totally unexceptionable in this day and age!

The solution to this resort:
1- Upgrade the rooms.
2- Fix the Internet.
3- Have the same type staff who currently run the dive operation run/manage the resort accommodations.
After taking the above recommendations, this resort would become one of the best in Grand Cayman Island!

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard rooms at all cost!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameer-Maasarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Sameer,

Thank you for writing your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the diving as much as we do here.
As we state our on website, courtyard rooms do not come with all the bells and whistles that the ocean view rooms have. As you stated, we have irons, ironing boards, safety deposit boxes, and hair dryers all available at the front desk. There is hot coffee in front lobby all day long for you as well as a computer to use as well.

The courtyard rooms are under some remodeling and the first area to get the renovated Wi-Fi as the bar area is going to be that 500 block you were in.

We hope we get the chance to see you again.

Warm regards,

Keith E Sahm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff was great, food is very good, dive boats and crews were excellent. Aaron was very good at the helm and as a dive master.
He killed a number of lion fish, the grouper would follow us looking for a lion fish meal.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

With very last minute plans to Grand Cayman, we were initially happy to secure a reservation at Sunset House. As divers on a dive trip, our needs and expectations are minimal. Unfortunately, Sunset House did not meet the minimal standards. We were given room #107, a courtyard room above the lobby. Avoid these rooms at all costs! They are old and in serious need of updating throughout, with very few amenities - no hair dryer, no coffee maker, unreliable internet, mismatched wobbly furmiture, bathroom vanity made from particle board, water pressure for shower was just above a trickle with tub/shower faucet knob falling off... you get the picture. The Sunset House web site describes these courtyard rooms for the "cost conscious", but at a corporate rate of $220 USD per night (we stayed 5 nights) plus and automatic gratuity/service fee of 15%, this equates to nothing more than a RIP OFF.

The Sunset House staff that we interacted with can only be described as indifferent. Because we were working while there, a coffee maker, which our room did not have, would have been useful. When I inquired about one at the front desk I was told that they were all being used and there were extra makers, but no pots. In this day and age, a coffee maker of some sort is viewed as a very basic amenity, standard in all rooms. We needed a hair dryer, which our room did not have. When my husband asked for one at the front desk, he was told there weren't any available. He told the desk clerk it was important and only needed for a short period of time, and seemingly, magically, one was available for our usage. Our work is dependant on the internet, and we were working while staying at Sunset House. The initial connectivity was what you'd expect for the Caribbean, then it stopped working. When I inquired about this at the front desk (Friday), it was confirmed that they were having problems and in all likelyhood would not be fixed until Monday. The following is taken from their web site, describing their wireless network: "Want to upload your latest underwater shots to your Facebook page? Catch up on the news back home or pay that bill you forgot to pay before you left? Our wireless network just got a huge boost with a new 2400 LTX Series Antennafier™ Outoor WiFi Amplifier. Making it easy to connect to the network whether you are in the room, out by the pool, bar, or patio!" When I inquired further if there were any other options for internet connectivity, the front desk clerk replied, "It doesn't always work, that's why we don't charge for it." My conclusion: false advertising on their web site! Luckily, we were able to find other options like cafes and restaurants in George Town with free, working wifi to get our work completed.

Room Tip: Avoid the Courtyard rooms above the lobby. They are very old with few amenities. Their web site des...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmediasoup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Newmediasoup2,

Thank you for your response. We do take what you have to say seriously and we have been renovating our courtyard rooms some that do need some "freshening up". Room 107 has had a new paint job, ceiling fans and wooden blinds installed since you left, as all of the other rooms in the 100 block.

But there are a few accusations that I feel need to be corrected in your trip report.

We received word last minute from the photo centre that you were in need of getting down here and getting more stock footage, since your PNG trip was washed out. We did not speak to you or your husband at all before your arrival or what needs you specifically required. Your reservation was during the holidays to where we had one room left to accommodate you. (This being 107, directly above the lobby.) All other rooms in all classes where sold out.

The water pressure is just fine in room 107 and not sure of what you are talking about, unless there was a strange occurrence where everyone was trying to shower at the same time. We did not receive any other complaints, nor have had any complaints after your trip.

Courtyard rooms "do have less amenities" and the timing of your trip was during the holidays, with the higher "room only" rate. (Our guests that are on our dive and non-dive packages take advantage of a discount than "room only" guests) The government room tax and service charges that we cannot do anything about are 23%. We are not sure where you came up with the 15%, except for all restaurant and bar bills charged to you room automatically get a 15% gratuity added to them. Only if they are billed to your room do we automatically add the gratuity.

There is free hot coffee in the lobby, just down the steps from where you were staying. Regarding the Internet, you are quoting our website for the "ocean view rooms", not the courtyard. The courtyard rooms clearly say, "One of the most popular rooms for "cost conscious" guests that we have to offer is the Courtyard Room. These rooms come with 2 Queen beds or 1 King-size bed, digital cable TV, air conditioning and private bathrooms. Most courtyard rooms can access the wireless network" .

The Internet can be clearly picked up on the 100 block balcony and a free computer is there in the lobby as well for you to use that is on an Ethernet cable. Always a connection there. There is also great connectivity at the bar outside, which has the same service as what the newer Wi-Fi update contains.. We have not had any problems down there from our guests. Even when folks are talking on Skype, Face Time and uploading pictures.

And yes, we did get you a hair dryer from Karin, our Co-General Manager after we had none left to accommodate your needs. (as we said, the hotel was 100% occupied and hair dryers and irons are on first basis.) Normally, our stock is well suitable for our guests needs.

I highly disagree with your accusation of false advertising on our website.. We understand that we do not meet everyone's expectations and why we retain our distinction of not being a chain hotel and state so on our website.

If you have further comments, please feel free to email me at keith.sahm@sunsethouse.com.

Warm regards,

Keith E Sahm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
437 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
611 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,259 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $192 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing