We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Resort”
Review of Sunset House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Dive Resort”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here for a few days February 2012, and it is a great resort for dive oriented vacations. The motto of "For Divers By Divers" is spot on, and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great dive vacation. I would be a little hesitant recommending this hotel to individuals looking for the perfect beach vacation (rocky shore) and those not into the dive scene (entire property is catered to divers). The dive staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are straight forward, and ideal as they are clean, quiet and close. There is free wifi, but reception can be unreliable in the rooms (bar area gets great reception though). Hotel is very close to George Town, which is in walking distance. We rented a car, but one could easily stay a week without needing one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    150
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
97
158
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset House in George Town 04-11FEB2012, as part of a dive trip with our club. My wife and I choose to stay in the upgrade rooms with a ocean view. If you enjoy a view and want space, balcony, and some amenities go for the upgrade. Friends who had the courtyard rooms complained they were small, lacked safes, coffee makers etc and were not cleaned well. Our room had two king beds , all the amenities a large bathroom and was cleaned reasonably well. We did have to ask the desk to have housekeeping clean the floor a little better one day.

Food is all pay as you go except for breakfast, if your used to Mexican all inclusive this might be a shock, but for the Caymans the prices were reasonable, servings large and the food was prepared expertly. Drinks are a little expensive ($7CI for a draft- pint). We had two group dinners on the patio ( which is away from the bar and deck) enjoying our dinners with quiet music and great atmosphere. If they have the rack of lamb special by all means go for it.

The dive shop was very accommodating for our group of 13, we had one non diver and one diver who didn't sign up for the whole week package. Both were able to go out for a boat ride and one dived a couple of days only paying for the dives she did. The dive staff was knowledgable, friendly and did not pressure us for tips. They will provide you with an 80 tank on request air or nitrous.

Room Tip: go for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The restaurant at Sunset House is one of our favourites. The atmosphere is casual and It has great outdoor seating beside the bar which offers fabulous views of the George Town harbour and the sunsets. The curries and fresh fish here are wonderful and it's a 10 - 15 minute walk from town or a few minutes in a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The outside bar/resturant is a perfect place for a few drinks or a casual dinner - or both!
Easy atmosphere, nice sunset views and good staff.
The drinks are reasonably priced and the food is as well.
They do great curries there too.
The Tropical Red Snapper is a dish not to be missed. There are kids options as well and something for everyone.
The locals dine there too so that must say something.
Easy shore dive there as well, or jump on one of their dive boats to go further afield.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Caught maid going through my things. She did not know I was at sliding glass door. Later safe in room would not open to get wallet and money out because the “manager” opened it and re-set the code. I wasn’t sure of how much cash I had (wallet and money clip), so some could have been taken. Great diving. Well kept property. To much B&E though.

Room Tip: Bring slippers. The rooms have no carpeting. All hard tile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rick28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shandytara, General Manager at Sunset House, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Rick28970,

As the General Manager of Sunset House I find your insinuation that I am, or could be a thief, extremely upsetting and your comments bordering on libelous. Whatever cash you may have had in your wallet is not worth my reputation as a person, or as a professionally certified hotel manager with 12 years experience with this hotel. And for the record, I did not change the combination lock on your safe. Furthermore, to say that our housekeeping employee was doing a B&E on your room is nothing short of ludicrous. You have been a guest of the hotel on four other occasions with the same housekeeper, and enjoyed the services and amenities of the resort without any problems, so if you had such an encounter as you describe why did you not contact me immediately and advise me of your concerns? You know where my office is located.

On a positive note I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hard work of our groundskeepers and the dive staff.

Should you wish to add anything to the conversation my contact email is Ken.Thompson@SunsetHouse.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great place to stay if you are looking for a diving vacation. I traveled with a group from my local dive shop. There were 10 divers and 2 nondivers. The hotel is about a 10/15 minute walk into Georgetown. Find out how many cruise ships are docked at the island before venturing into town. The dive shop staff was excellent!! All very knowledgeable and fun to be with for the week. The food at My Bar was great! The wait staff was very friendly. We got a little bored with choosing from the menu after a few days so we ventured away from the hotel. Casanova by the Sea and Grand Old House are two great places you must try! Smith Cove is about a 10 min walk from the hotel going away from town. Great place to snorkel for the nondivers in the group. The sand wasn't as well groomed as Seven Mile Beach but definitely a pretty place to visit. I would highly recommend this resort and plan to visit it again.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms. Had a partial view of the ocean through the courtyard area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Unless you are a diver this resort is not recommended. It caters to divers and has a lot to offer for divers, if that is the trip you are looking for.

Room Tip: The best rooms as a couple to me are over looking the ocean by the sea pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karats24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
4.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
409 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,194 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House

Property: Sunset House
Address: 390 South Church Street, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset House 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Resort Fees!!! Best Value on Island! We have found the beginning of why so many people love Sunset House, Grand Cayman's Hotel for Divers, by Divers. "Stepping out of my room, feeling the sunshine on my face, catching that breath of fragrant tropical breeze, gazing into the alluring blue water..". More profound words were never spoken! This family owned resort is more of a big guest house, than a hotel. Everything you have dreamed for a Caribbean Dive Vacation is here! From palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to a famous underwater photographer; from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 50 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room! A perfect place for your scuba diving or snorkeling vacation! Packages include Breakfast, transfers from Airport and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset House Hotel George Town
Sunset Hotel George Town
Sunset Resort George Town
Sunset House Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing