We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAYMAN WILDLIFE REVEALED”

National Trust Visitors Centre
Ranked #27 of 55 things to do in George Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Trust Visitors Centre provides information, tours, events, books and souvenirs related to the preservation of natural environments and places of historic significance in the Cayman Islands.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“CAYMAN WILDLIFE REVEALED”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The National Trust Visitors' Centre is a beautiful bungalow along the seaside road east of George Town, Grand Cayman. Set in landscaped grounds with a small amphitheatre that gives onto the Caribbean Sea, the Centre gardens offer a quiet haven to the traveller. Within, the bungalow has a variety of displays about Cayman wildlife: plants and animals indigenous and endemic. Find out about excursions to the Queen Elizabeth Botanic Park, about meeting the endemic Blue Iguanas, and the walk along the wilderness Mastic trail. Crafts are for sale, postcards, art-work and posters. Drinks available. Opposite, on the other side of the road, do not miss the Craft Shop with everything. Such an informative fun place to visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank 2seagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A NATURE LOVERS, ART, HISTORICAL BUILDINGS AND HORTICULTURIST DREAM OUTING”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Advertised programmes are in the many Cayman Islands Tourist Publications
For ecological, historical, marine, local arts, architectural and the list goes on programmes and tours contact the National Visitors Centre - the many programmes are very interesting to take part in for locals and international visitors who enjoy the outdoors and indoors and everything exciting about visiting the Cayman Islands - Pedro Castle - Birdwatching - Museums - Visit the National Trust Visitors Centre and go early as you can to ensure enough time to enjoy the plethora of fascinating options available. Miss Lassie's Interpretive Art - Local Art - Also try to get to the Queen Elizabeth Botanical Gardens - A Marvel and Enjoyable Experience

Helpful?
4 Thank Mountainview2guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand cayman
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Park”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The park which this visitor's centre is located is about a mile from the centre of town and was donated by Cayman largest developer. It is very nicely laid out and offers free park to escape from the cruise ship shop centre of town.

Helpful?
1 Thank samsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Book a hike with Stuart!”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My extended family – my wife and our four young kids, plus my folks and my brother – had the opportunity to hike the Mastic Trail on Grand Cayman with Stuart Mailer & his wife on December 27, 2010. For our outdoorsy family, this relaxed morning was the perfect antidote to the rushed fun of the commercial tourism which plagues the western end of the island. Stuart paced the hike to suit my slightly unsteady mom, even though this probably extended his normal trip time by at least an hour. Here I should note that while the jagged crags flanking parts of the Mastic Trail put the forked stones of the CI’s Hell to shame, the path was manageable for everyone in our group, six to sixty-something. Stuart kept up his informative banter the entire way, ranging between what were obviously oft’ told tales about key points of interest to serious responses to our questions, whether posed by an adult or a hyper-inquisitive child, to impromptu “I Spy” moments when an anole darted, a racer slithered, or a parrot flapped across our path. Each time there was something new to be seen – practically a step by step event – Stuart would pause to tell us a bit more about Grand Cayman’s natural history. He even got the kids to smell and/or taste the crushed leaves of a number of the native plants. Huge kudos to Stuart - we truly appreciated his detailed knowledge of the trail's flora & fauna. Outside the classroom, I've never heard anyone so comfortable with Linnaean classification that the Latinate names followed the common as though there were no other way of speaking. For my part, even if it's another two decades until I return to Grand Cayman (I hope not), I won't forget to beware the various Shake Hands - common, but evocative naming of some prickly trees! My wife is a science teacher and she's not easy to impress, but he more than passed muster; she's raved about our knowledgeable guide to several folks. We emphasized to John, the manager at the Turtlenest Inn, that he should point their guests in Stuart’s direction. Stateside, we'll both suggest to anyone traveling to Grand Cayman that they book Stuart’s tour. And many thanks to his wife as well. We all appreciate that she took the time to come along and share her considerable understanding. Several weeks after our trip I finally found time to write to Stuart and he kindly forwarded photos he shot of the various birds we saw on the day of our hike. We simply could not have asked for a better experience!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank StephandRuss6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birdlovers - this is a must!”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

The Mastic Trail is land in the center of the island (about an hour drive from Seven Mile Beach) that the Cayman National Trust has purchased over the years from private owners. The National Trust then allowed the land to return to growth and habitation natural to the island.

If you’re at all outdoorsy, this is a great morning hike. It lasts about 3-3½ hours. Covers about 2-3 miles. The terrain isn't difficult, but it's not recommended for children under 6 or anyone with issues walking. You can wear running shoes or Keene’s/Tevas. Hiking shoes not needed and flip flops are probably too flimsy.

Stuart Mailer works with the National Trust and provides guided tours of the trail. He has a true passion for birds and will point out as many of the 13 birds native to Grand Cayman as he sees (as a result, you stop frequently to listen and watch for the birds). Other animals we saw include snakes, frogs and salamander-like creatures. Stuart also talks about the brush, trees and other growth.

The tour is $30 per person and reservations are a must. Contact Stuart through the National Trust (http://nationaltrust.org.ky/contact.html). Stuart Mailer also does an extended tour (lasting 4 hours) that focuses even more on birds. I think that’s $40 per person. We were able to make reservations and pay ahead of our trip, which simplified the exchange.

Helpful?
6 Thank SoMiSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Trust Visitors Centre also viewed

 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to National Trust Visitors Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing