We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good introduction to the islands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayman Islands National Museum

Cayman Islands National Museum
3 Harbour Drive, George Town, Grand Cayman
345-949-8368
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$316*
and up
East Island Sightseeing Tour in Grand Cayman
Ranked #2 of 5 Museums in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: One of the best museums in the Caribbean, it features changing exhibits on the islands' human and natural history.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A very good introduction to the islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Cayman Islands National Museum presents its history, both natural and human, in this small museum located quite close to the cruise ship dock. Visitors will discover what is unique about this small nation as well as an outline of its human history as well. One hour should suffice. The only thing we didn't like was the spooky fisherperson in his boat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lubec
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Get some knowledge mon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It is always nice to get some knowledge of the place you are visiting. It is actually one of the things one should do when visiting some place. That and pick up all of you garbage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm not a real big museum person but this was very good. Takes about 45 minutes to go through but well worth the time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tdhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A museum not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed the variety of exhibits regarding the history of the island. Its fairly small and doesn't take long. Great views on the second floor to the Georgetown harbor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellendeette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Small, charming and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped into the National Museum on a day when no cruise ships were in town (mentioning "explore" for a discount) and had the place nearly to ourselves. Our visit started with a cute movie about the history and natural splendor of the Cayman Islands. Our favorite exhibits were in the natural history room, which had a little "submarine" where we sat and pushed buttons to see clips of various sea creatures (it was like a video fish card), as well as Cayman sea floor maps and life-sized models of sea turtles, iguanas and other local fauna. Upstairs, we enjoyed the old courtroom, which had the judge's bench, plus video re-creations of famous Cayman trials, plus a life-sized model of a Cayman catboat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Islands National Museum also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Islands National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing