We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Get some knowledge mon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayman Islands National Museum

Cayman Islands National Museum
Book In Advance
$316.20*
and up
East Island Sightseeing Tour in Grand Cayman
Ranked #2 of 5 Museums in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: One of the best museums in the Caribbean, it features changing exhibits on the islands' human and natural history.
Lubec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get some knowledge mon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

It is always nice to get some knowledge of the place you are visiting. It is actually one of the things one should do when visiting some place. That and pick up all of you garbage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    84
    21
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm not a real big museum person but this was very good. Takes about 45 minutes to go through but well worth the time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tdhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A museum not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed the variety of exhibits regarding the history of the island. Its fairly small and doesn't take long. Great views on the second floor to the Georgetown harbor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellendeette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Small, charming and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped into the National Museum on a day when no cruise ships were in town (mentioning "explore" for a discount) and had the place nearly to ourselves. Our visit started with a cute movie about the history and natural splendor of the Cayman Islands. Our favorite exhibits were in the natural history room, which had a little "submarine" where we sat and pushed buttons to see clips of various sea creatures (it was like a video fish card), as well as Cayman sea floor maps and life-sized models of sea turtles, iguanas and other local fauna. Upstairs, we enjoyed the old courtroom, which had the judge's bench, plus video re-creations of famous Cayman trials, plus a life-sized model of a Cayman catboat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Father and Son visit - brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the opening video that greets you to the excellent exhibits around the old courthouse/gaol/library this is a brillinat way to spend an hour or two. The entrance fee is worth it for the opening video experience itself and then as you walk around you get a feeling of how proud Caymanians are of their heritage. Visit now!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenCSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Islands National Museum also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Islands National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing