We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food!”

Singh's Roti Shop & Bar
Ranked #32 of 117 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great local food!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This little local place is a welcome relief from the pricier alternatives aimed at tourists. Roti is basically curried meat (goat, beef, chicken, etc) wrapped in a thin, soft wrap, and then in paper. It's a product of Trinidad & Tobago's rich South Asian culture. The place can be a little tricky to find. Look for a green building off Shedden Street with an outdoor patio sporting a Heineken umbrella. The roti is cheap by Caymanian standards (under $10 CI), and tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank profe1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Really good roti and fresh coconut juice!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

So good and so fresh! It was a bit hard to find but once we did the payoff was great given how delicious it all was. And very very affordable for the Caymans. Stick to your ribs food. Yum!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Descent food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Their menu is very limited depending on the day. Food is overall good however if you have a craving for something be prepared to hear its only served on a particular day and time of day. That to me is their biggest downfall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMNYC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comanche, oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped at Singh's on our Cayman Food Tour. Our food sample was roti. We didn't have a clue what we were going to get. We were blown away with the wrap that was made from ground peas and filled with spinach, squash and potatoes. The condiment offerings were varied but we loved the one made with scotch bonnets. Nice and warm but absolutely delicious. Our tour was on the day before we flew back home so we weren't able to go back and try other items. The little shop will definitely be one of the first places we go to eat on our return trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank najbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Locals eat here. You should eat here.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The vegetable roti with pumpkin and onions was delicious. Everyone we were with enjoyed their selection. They also make their own sauces. Slightly sweet tamarind, spicy scotch bonnet pepper and the most fabulous of all - the green mango relish they called (spelled phonetically) cucinelli. Singh's has a great vibe after dark as well. A great find in Georgetown.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singh's Roti Shop & Bar also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Singh's Roti Shop & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing