We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORTH THE WAIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Ranked #6 of 115 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“WORTH THE WAIT”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you had ever been to the Lobster Pot before they closed due tot he fire, you will be blown away by the renovations.
The interior is modern but somehow they have still managed to keep the island feel, such as the panelling on the ceiling, like that of a boat.
We ate inside, but the panoramic windows on each wall facing the ocean gave us the same experience we would have had on the deck.
Service was amazing, it was great to see some old faces.
Tried the Escargot, which was to die for and the Cayman Style Lobster. (Market Price so make sure to ask depending whether or not it is in season)
My mom had the Filet Mignon, which she said had to be one of her new favourites.
All in all, the Lobster Pot has maintained it's status for great food, great service and the overral feeling of "returning home".

Will be returning at least once a month.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank teenagedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    165
    81
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, fresh tasty food and a recent significant renovation”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just had lunch at The (new) Lobster Pot. Recently renovated and what a massive difference in looks - looks great and even a great new outdoor area. Fortuntately the great food and service has not been lost and I can highly recomend this restaurant to anyone. First restaurant I ate in Cayman in 1995 and have been a happy customer since- well done Lobster Pot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“They've opened back up! Yay!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

They were closed due to a fire for awhile. I was in Grand Cayman in Jan. and and in May and both times they were closed. Bummer, cuz I've always wanted to eat at the Lobster Pot. Well, I had my chance! Ate here last week and was NOT disappointed! The staff was attentive. The food was wonderful! The prices are reasonable. Nice scenery. I will, for sure, go back before I leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southernbell7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally reopened”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lobster pot is by far the best place to eat in grand cayman. I was so happy to see that they had reopened after the fire that closed them for 18 months. Even ate there twice in my four night trip. Asked if they were going to close this year in sept or oct for slow season so I could plan my next trip around. Was excited to hear they won't be closing. If you are in grand cayman you have to eat here!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammys54173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The NEW Lobster Pot is lobstericious”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had Dinner at the new Lobster Pot and was stunned by the renovations which have been made to this long time favorite of ours.
The entire restaurant underwent a major facelift and if you don't know the history behind one of Caymans all time favorite restaurants you wont believe this modern restaurant with killer ocean views and sunsets has been around for over 30 years.
A spacious Patio has been added on to enjoy their fabulous foods (Conch Fritters, Tuna Tartare, Lobster Salad, Steak, Seafood Pasta, Lobster dishes,...) overlooking the Caribbean Sea.
Come early and enjoy a cocktail and watch the sunset and enjoy a great dinner after, if you rather have lunch this is a great place to watch boats go by and divers return from their underwater adventure.
The Staff is amazing, friendly and accommodating. The wine selection extensive and superb. If you are looking for a great place to have a wonderful time - this is it!
I am looking forward to my next visit to Lobster Pot and enjoy their superb cuisine, drinks, views and excellent service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettina2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing