We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shouldn't be missed”
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be missed”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although a bit off the beaten path, it is worth every effort to find this restaurant and dine here. The food is fabulous and each night the menu also consists of some type of "special event". We were here for Thursday which has a half price wine list and taco night - the snapper tacos were light and delicious as well as the salads and other appies.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler33900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    106
    31
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Situated in the heart of the Finance and legal district it boast a discerning cliental that expect the best, and to be fair to them thats what they deliver day in and day out. Have the pate its divine and I always find there simple bangers and mash a lunchtime favourite. For lunch or dinner you wont be disappointed. Expect to pay around $50 per head for starter, main and coffee. book ahead

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBailey1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“The best meal we had on Grand Cayman - highly recommended”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When a restaurant can combine a great meal with a local sensitivity and a sense of place then everything falls into to place to make it a great dining experience. The Brasserie delivered at all these levels. While the location (just inland from George Town harbour) lacks the 'touristy' view, it doesn't need one. The ambiance and decor are excellent - you feel like you are dining in the Caymans - not a generic 'i could be anywhere' place. The menu is focused on locavore dining - almost all the food is locally sourced - they even have their own boats for fishing, their own garden adjacent to the restaurant (ask for a tour), and they source on island organic chicken and pork. We did the 5 course chef's menu with Sommelier wine paring (the Som'lr was very knowledgeable and the pairing went exceptionally well). With this selection the chef makes you 5 dishes of his choice - you eat blind. But it was well worth it. We had an amuse bouche, mussels, seared tuna, watermelon salad, beef and a dessert selection - all were fabulous. Afterwards Chef Joe visited our table and talked about their food philosophy, his dishes and then gave us a tour of the garden and even the kitchen - always great to see a clean kitchen, with an efficient well-oiled brigade working well together. We got to see the fresh fish on ice, caught that morning, that we just enjoyed, and recognized the greens just plucked from the garden. I have eaten all over the world and this ranks as one of my top 5 experiences. Cost was just under $100 CI ($125 US) per person (including wine) + 15% gratuity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here last year, and it was on our list to return to this year. Well we went last night and they delivered on our expectation again. Super good food with great ambiance. enjoy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Me and my group came to the Brasserie for dinner and we decided to try the five course tasting menu with the wine accompaniments. It's was out of this world! Every course was delicious and the wine pairings were delicious. Best meal I can remember having! The service was phenomenal and the atmosphere was formal but comfortable. And after dinner we were greeted by the Head Chef asking us how every course was! Just amazing! Don't think about it, just go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing