We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just the fish..check out the greenhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 113 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not just the fish..check out the greenhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Yes fish is first...heck they have their own boats ...gotta try the Fish wings..snapper collars dunked in buttermilk and bread crumbs..only two findable bones in them..like a chicken wing a real treat. Grill cheese app...sounds boring but Brie and white truffels...OMG... I had Wahoo..never had before but an accurate description from our increadibly attentive and knowledgeable wait staff had me enjoying a new find. The veg are fantastic most grown on site..ask for the tour and if I was back I would ask for the vegetarian plate..high praise from a meat eater. handled delicatly..creative and above all fresh! Decor ...truly island.Dark woods/flowers.... and a moment of worship...the chocolate ice cream with sea salt....it captured my attention... and my imagination...last bite savored with the last bit of my red wine...it does not get better! Reasonably priced..dinner from 15- 40 $ Great specials almost every day...a great value away from the 7 mile ..close though..but infintely more upscale and attentive for the $ and for sure on my list for my next trip back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioSugarSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    105
    31
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshest Fish on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

If the General Manager, Corey, is around have him give you a tour of the place. The restaurant has an on-site garden that they pick from daily and the kitchen is beyond clean. Fish is caught daily from two boats owned by the restaurant. Every restaurant is expensive on the island but you can feel good about spending a few bucks here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisMN612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went for lunch and at that point in my trip we had not had any seafood- sad…This fit the bill. It was cooked perfectly and had lovely sides
They say its in George Town area but its quite close to 7 mile. Lovely atmosphere, private booths and tables. Amazing wine list. Crazy fresh- they have their own garden and the fish I had was not only exceptional but caught that morning. Great starters. I had the most amazing brie and truffle toasted cheese sandwich- it was like it was made for me.
Lunch portions were wonderful.
Service was very friendly and attentive.
Seemed to cater to a business crowd but we were certainly welcomed as tourists.
They have a market next door where you can get lovely to-go items also.
It’s a great choice- easily our top 5 places we ate !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysMissinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 star wining and dining for an exceptional value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This quaint but trendy upscale dining destination for locals and business-types in the know features 3 star dining and an extensive wine and bar selection. Service is friendly and accommodating. Jessica the private event manager and a classically trained somnellier greeted us at the door and set our evening off to a splendid start to finish. Chef patel emphasizes local seafood dishes with the majority of the fish caught on their their two boats daily. No fresher than that. Many of their vegetables are from their own gardens. My chefs special was a large sweet flaky filet of red snapper for $28 with sauteed baby veggies. not limited to seafood, excellent offerings of steak and chicken. Next visit will try the chef's 5 course tasting menu for sure! How accommodating and tolerant is the restaurant? My guests included a famished 3 year old granddaughter and my 1 month old grandson!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_and_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very limited seafood selection.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Apparently their two fishing boats can't seem to catch more than one species. Wahoo was the catch of the day so the cerviche and tartar were wahoo as wad the entre. The wahoo was served with a cloyingly sweet chutney reflective of the chef's Indian roots. But otherwise satisfactoy. Very reasonable selection of wines by the bottle. Excellent service. I would not recommend this place for seafood

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing