We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Sunset House

Sunset House
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Grand Cayman's historic hotel for divers by divers... Scuba Diving is the talk of the town here! Sunset House is the oldest hotel on Grand Cayman, started back in 1958 with the family Matriarch Ms. Hebe! The family still owns and operates this iconic dive resort today! From an array of different variety of palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to Cathy Church and her retail and photo school (a world famous underwater photographer); from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 55 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room for those staying at Sunset House!
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Great setting overlooking the sea, helped by beautiful weather most of the time. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff are generally helpful. There is a wide selection of bar food and a good selection of drinks. Prices are about average for the island which is expensive. The food is good but the portion sizes could increase maybe a little.

Helpful?
Thank Stubowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Well, Cayman is an expansive place and the hotel is no exception. The rooms a OK but not fancy. The better ones have a full fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The only thing I disliked was the noisy aircon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sunset Divers Review”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just spent a week diving with Sunset Divers and thought they were great. The dive masters were really friendly and we enjoyed being with them all week. They took us to some really nice places. We had two really rough days and they took us by bus to the other side of the island. The only reason I gave them 4 instead of 5 is that on one dive we had really rough water. I came up to go up the ladder and two other people cut in front of me trying to get our of the water. Not Sunset Divers fault but I was having a hard time and I asked them for a line to hold onto since I was getting really tired. They said no, that I would just get tangled. I have dove quite a bit and have never seen a dive op say no to a tired diver. They offered no help. Otherwise it was a great week.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Weird”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We did a boat dive to the Kittiewake, which is a great wreck dive. I have been diving since 1974 and was very surprised to see the Dive Master was the last one in and first one out.
Our group had eight divers, six experienced and two novice. The only time I saw him during the dive, he was 100’ away from the wreck going between the two coral heads, chasing Angle fish. Very strange.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank McTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great House, Fair Dive Operation”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were with a group from our hometown dive shop, they organized the trip. Accommodations were good, we got the large room that had full size fridge, kitchen table, microwave and plenty of room to spread out. The restaurant was good, the service excellent. By the end of the week they know who drank orange juice, who ate pancakes etc, it was a nice touch. We were not as impressed with Sunset Divers as the week progressed. The boat was nice and they were friendly and they always offered at least 2 profiles off the boat: one on your own with good descriptions of the area, and one guided by the dive masters. The problem is they never kept to their own profile of depth. They would say it will be 60 feet max and then they go down to 80. This was consistent. So much for the guided part, probably better to be more advanced and independent if you go with Sunset Divers. The reef at Sunset House is great for shore diving.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset House also viewed

Cayman Islands, Caribbean
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing