We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (and cheap) shore dive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset House

Sunset House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Grand Cayman's historic hotel for divers by divers... Scuba Diving is the talk of the town here! Sunset House is the oldest hotel on Grand Cayman, started back in 1958 with the family Matriarch Ms. Hebe! The family still owns and operates this iconic dive resort today! From an array of different variety of palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to Cathy Church and her retail and photo school (a world famous underwater photographer); from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 55 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room for those staying at Sunset House!
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent (and cheap) shore dive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Shore dive last week in the afternoon - was very impressed by marine life and healthy corals. Rental process for tanks and weights was easy and cheap - $15 (USD) for AL80 air and 14 lbs. Friendly and helpful staff. Small wreck added some interest and, most impressively, two White Spotted Eagle Rays made a nice slow swim past - beautiful animals! The North Wall is still the best dive in Grand Cayman, but for the cost this can't be beat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1984Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location to start your dive trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The staff is super friendly and helpful, the location is good and the diving was very relaxing and nice. In between dives they have a really nice outdoor resturant/bar that is pretty affordable compared to other locations on the island. This place really was desined by and for divers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricklic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Dive Spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our first trip to a resort that specialized in diving. We really enjoyed our stay. The dive staff was friendly and always very helpful. The diving was beautiful! We had no problems at all with our booking, our room, our dives, or any other part of our trip. Having My Bar on site was very convenient for lunch after our morning dives.
Sunset House is a quick walk either into Georgetown or to Smith's Cove. Be aware though that the area is not really "walking friendly." There are very few sidewalks. Sunset House staff will call you a cab if you want to go into town for dinner or shopping and do not care to walk. A cab into Georgetown is $10 US one way and $18 US one way to seven mile beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerpaw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great for food and snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wonderfully laid back place with excellent right-off-the-beach snorkeling. We arrived too late to get a locker, so they kept my bag with money and credit cards behind the counter. Great guys in the dive shop. They've cut out a large section of the rocks to create a pool that beginning divers and snorkelers can use. Our 9yo started out there and then we moved into the sea. It was choppy that day, but we spent about an hour seeing great fish and some squid. Then we finished at the restaurant with great food and drinks. A wonderful day!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“For Divers, By Divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great dive operation with friendly helpful staff. My wife is a nervous diver and they accommodated her with ease. They had the biggest dive lockers that I've ever used complete with hangers for wetsuits. Two of us could fit comfortably in one locker. The restaurant, My Bar was fantastic (see separate review), the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The dive operation uses minivans to drive to the south side of the island on the two days of heavy weather so we never missed a dive. Shore diving was pretty good. No beach so the water was clear with no run-off

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123RIch_S123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset House also viewed

Cayman Islands, Caribbean
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing