We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Casual Food and Shore Diving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset House

Sunset House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Grand Cayman's historic hotel for divers by divers... Scuba Diving is the talk of the town here! Sunset House is the oldest hotel on Grand Cayman, started back in 1958 with the family Matriarch Ms. Hebe! The family still owns and operates this iconic dive resort today! From an array of different variety of palm trees to an amazing house reef; from 5 custom dive boats, to Cathy Church and her retail and photo school (a world famous underwater photographer); from amazing Caribbean concoctions, to spicy Indian dishes; they all await you! And combined with warm Caymanian hospitality, you'll wonder why you waited so long to visit this West Indian oasis, or why you haven't come back sooner. Of course, the Caymans and Sunset House are a diver's paradise, with crystal-clear waters awaiting your arrival. Come to Sunset House today and experience now, what others have seen for over the last 55 years. An underwater photographer's perfect dive. Shipwrecks, curious big eels, cuddly stingrays and a legendary mermaid await you just steps from your room for those staying at Sunset House!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Casual Food and Shore Diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Near downtown, great sea views from the restaurant, very good shore dive and dive shop. This is the first place we take all of our guests after they arrive at the Airport it sets the tone for the vacation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank xrayDocG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    45
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great outdoor bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Tasty food from a broad menu and delicious drinks. The outdoor bar was a great hangout, with locals and tourists mingling. A fun spot even if you're not staying at sunset house.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erinn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, OK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great shore diving, often low on nitrox, enter from the sea pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is my second favorite shore diving place on the Island, right behind turtle reef (where the cracked conch is). I have done about thirty dives here over the past three years and the people who run the dive shop here are knowledgeable and nice. The biggest problem I have there is that they often run out of Nitrox, mostly I think it is reserved for groups staying at the hotel but never the less, it is annoying to me. Call in advance and you can ask what the conditions are like ( they are very conservative) as well as check on their availability of nitrox. Do yourself a favor and enter from the sea pool (turn right on the path). Its calmer and you can see some neat stuff while waiting for your buddies or finishing a dive. This is a great shallow dive with lots of beautiful coral, fish and channels to explore. If you want to mix it up a bit you can swim out a little farther to the wreck (depth about 65 ft) for some unique photos. If your here to dive definitely stop here and do a couple of dives.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fastaggierunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

it is amazing, but it is not like the ritz or marriot. it's stayed a humble hotel and restaurant and that's why i like it. simple and understated. the service is not great in the bar but it's probably because there are so many people. it is definitely local and has arguably the best curry on island

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ml5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunset House a Home for Divers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days diving with them and enjoyed a wonderful comfortable room. Great breakfast and wonderful service. I love it that Cathy Church is on property and spent some great quality time in her gallery. She also has great prices on underwater camera equipment! Lessons too if you wish!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PassengerPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset House also viewed

Cayman Islands, Caribbean
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing