We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Captain Marvin's tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Captain Marvin's
from $84.37
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
Reviews (2,034)
Filter reviews
1,906 results
Traveler rating
1,584
221
51
29
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,584
221
51
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stop tour stingray city coral gardens snorkeling stops fish grand cayman barrier reef second stop fruit punch cruise ship feed the stingrays take pictures sting ray great trip turtle farm crew members stingray tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,906 reviews
Reviewed today

We booked the far side tour on our recent trip- it was just awful. Apparently nobody realized the rum point was closed for the day and didnt plan accordingly. We spent the day being shuffled from one place to another- nobody had a clue what they were doing

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank PAL324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

We took a jet ski tour to stingray city and it was awesome. We had to catch a flight and they sent an extra guide to make sure we could peel off from the others in the group if it was slow. We had a great time and they got us back on time. The water was pretty rough, which is a lot of fun but not for the feint of heart.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank calibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile


My husband & I are grandparents traveling alone and ended up on a 10:30-1:30 excursion with several families (2 yr-16). Beautiful boat provided areas of sun & shade. Crew was fun, polite & knowledgeable. 3 stops provided all that was advertised. Stingray City was our favorite as I had no idea these creatures were so large and docile. Highly recommend Captain Marvin's service.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank simmons143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

From our cruise ship, we walked a short distance to Captain Marvin's shop where we boarded a bus which took us to the boat. Everyone was very friendly.

We took a BEAUTIFUL boat ride ("Dramamine" not needed) out to a sandbar. There was excellent snorkeling equipment on-board, but we used our own. The water is about elbow-to-shoulder deep. Dozens-upon dozens of friendly Sting Rays swim all around you, bashing into you, and you can feed them out of your hand, pet them, kiss them, and take pictures. I highly recommend wearing snorkeling equipment so you can view the rays underneath the water! One of our guides took pictures of us with my cell phone. The best photos are taken with their camera, though, and can be purchased on the boat; I believe they e-mail them to you, but I'm not certain, and I think it runs about $40.

After this stop, we went to another place for snorkeling. This time we used the mask/fins provided on the boat and they were very clean, (kept in soapy water), and new. We snorkeled out in the middle of the ocean in a lovely spot. After snorkeling, they spray you off with a hose, which is great, and provide water and punch to drink.

The only thing we were confused about was that it was written that there would be TWO snorkelling stops, as well as the sting ray stop, so that was a bit of a disappointment but, frankly, we were exhausted, so didn't mind not going again, but be prepared for this confusion. Perhaps they need to change the wording in their advertisement to make it clearer.

Nevertheless, this was, without question, the COOLEST thing we've ever done, (and we've done a lot of cool things!)!!! The people at Captain Marvin's were all very friendly and had very good humor and made our trip perfect for us.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We opted for this slightly more expensive small group tour. average group size is 18 but there were only 6 of us on the tour we chose Arthur and Keith our crew on a virtually brand new comfortable boat could not have been more helpful, friendly and fun. The snorkelling at the Crystal Gardens was spectacular, and away from any big boats in the vicinity. Lots of species of fish, many of which were brightly colored and included stingrays. The crew also fed them which made for even more activity! Next stop was Sting Ray city which was truly memorable. Again we were so glad we were small group. Keith spent the entire time in the water with us helping us engage and feed the friendly rays and telling us a lot about them. He also took photos for everyone using our own phones and cameras, no expensive upselling of "professional" photos here! Final stop was for the starfish which by comparison was underwhelming, although if you are into starfish there were plenty to see, and hold if you that's your thing. All in all this was an amazing high quality experience and great value. Unreservedly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Rod250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This will probably be the highlight of our trip to Grand Cayman. The crew led us on an adventure to see sting rays on a sand bar well away from shore and two other stops to do snorkeling.
Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank GordX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews