We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep and a decent breakfast”
Review of The Old Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hosts were warm and welcoming, even though we had a late arrival (after 9pm). We were shown to our room which had a beautiful view out to sea, further improved by the binoculars supplied in the room! A lovely touch I thought, this turned out to be the norm here, lots of small touches that make it a cut above other B&B's we have used in the area.

The lane is not as tight as some would have you believe, I'd happily take a wagon down the lane as I'm sure many have done when it was a working farm. The Farmhouse itself is set in it's own mature well kept grounds. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. We both got a peaceful nights rest. Breakfast the following morning is a communal affair, we enjoyed the company and the food.

Downside was booking . com led us to believe the room had a private hot tub/pool and this proved to be communal and open to the rest of the site. Dog friendly also equals dog(or fox?) mess, careful where you step in the car park. A small complaint but the dog mess coupled with the approach via a council estate took the shine off our experience a little.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrenvoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Old Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 100 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my mums 70th birthday. We had the 2 garden rooms just for one night. The rooms were immaculate and beds very comfortable. Tim and sally have spent alot of time to ensure everything is perfect down to the finer touches. We were lucky to have amazing weather so made use of the beautiful pool and hot tub. The gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. Breakfast was excellent. Tim and sally made our stay perfect and would definitely recommend it to others. The surrounding areas are also great lots of nice places to visit. Dine at the last inn in Barmouth -excellent place to eat. And a visit to Harlech castle is also a must. The old Farmhouse is a perfect place to stay as has so many places to visit within a short drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was the perfect place to celebrate my birthday. Our hosts, Sally and Tim could not have been more helpful. We had a lovely room with stunning views to the sea. They had thought of every possible thing we might need. The bed was very comfortable, we had a fridge, a comfortable settee, and plenty of space. The breakfast was delicious and Sally was able easily to cater for my dietary preferences. They recommended a superb restaurant for the birthday meal. They gave me a birthday card and a present. The whole experience was wonderful and relaxing. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaspirit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Tim and Sally greeted us as we arrived at the farmhouse. They could not have been more welcoming, friendly and generally chatty. Our room was located outside the farmhouse in a delightful part of the garden with fantastic sea views. The room was tastefully decorated with everything you could want for either an overnight stay or a week. There was also a very large fridge in the room (very quiet) for storing any food/drinks. Unfortunately the weather was too cool to use the unheated pool (apparently soon to be heated), but it did look very tempting. Surrounded by fields, there are loads of walks to do here (if only we'd had the time), but this place is worth a second stay. Breakfasts (cooked to order and extremely tasty) are served in Tim & Sally's lounge/dinner with all guests seated together, which was rather nice as you got to meet/chat with other residents. Harlech and Barmouth are equidistant and both merit a look. We found a lovely tea shop in Harlech that had a rear patio overlooking the castle. Worth a visit. We'll be back when in the area next. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to go hiking in the beautiful surrounding area - sadly only for one night. Didn't expect such comfort and luxury at the price - the room was elegant and comfortable, the hosts utterly charming and I honestly could not fault a thing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casualty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights and we were warmly welcomed by the hosts (a big thanks to Sally for lending me a swimming suit as I forgot it and I used it twice - too cold for a pool, but a relaxing hot bath in a jacuzzi was definitely a thing after a whole day outdoors!), room was clean and comfy, decent breakfasts served upstairs (even though I am not a huge fun of English breakfasts!). We can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstPast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent one night here on a brief visit to Snowdonia. Super Accomodation , such a warm welcome from Sally &Tim , house is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean . Lovely cooked breakfast .
Swimming pool and hot tub in the garden can be used also. We would normally stay in hotels so we were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of this B&B , wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumpeypumpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
148 reviews
7.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
10.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cadwgan - Inn
Cadwgan - Inn
#3 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farmhouse

Address: The Old Farmhouse Penrhiw, Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Price Range: $99 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a hotel with the friendliness and informality of our renovated farmhouse.It is an ideal centre for touring Snowdonia, walking or just total relaxation by our large outdoor swimming pool and hot spa (open seasonally from April to September)whilst enjoying the breathtaking views of Snowdonia and the coast.This area of Secret Snowdonia offers visitors a wide range of interests including over 5 miles of one of Britain's few Blue Flag beaches. There are lots of castles and historic sites and visitor attractions including slate mines, little trains of Wales, Portmeirion and numerous and varied walks. There are quiet lanes for cyclists and stunning scenery, all of which are on the doorstep or within a short drive.The Old Farmhouse sits 350 feet above sea level and looks out over Cardigan Bay to the Llyn Peninsular in 1 1/2 acres of garden and originally dates from around 1600. It offers guests the traditional atmosphere of an old farmhouse but with the benefit of every modern convenience.Tim and Sally Knight will ensure you have a warm welcome and excellent service within superb surroundings and stunning views of the Llyn Peninsula. We are walker, cyclist, motor bike and pet friendly (for a small charge), with facilities and storage to cater for all necessary equipment including secure garaging.We are keen to offer good old fashioned quality and comfort combined with a healthy and hearty breakfast. As owners of The Old Farmhouse we hope you will enjoy your stay and fall in love with its charm and character as we have done and have a break to remember in the beautiful surroundings within Snowdonia National Park and come back and see us many times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Farmhouse Dyffryn Ardudwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing