We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of The Old Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 4 days at this B and B and found it to be absolutely wonderful!
Brilliant location for lots of walks. Sally and Tim were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Loved the hot tub too, made the post walk leg ache bearable.
We had the Fflur room and it was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and everything was spotlessly clean. The only teeny tiny thing was as the kitchen is above it you can hear people walking around in the morning but wasn't a problem for us as we were up early.
We will definitely going back with our new dog Hector! It is rare to find such a lovely B and B that takes dogs.

Room Tip: Fflur room was spacious and very clean. Mentioned floor noise in above text.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed overnight with husband and dog and chose one of the garden rooms as these provide almost direct access to areas where we could walk and toilet the dog. Dog was welcomed by owners and their dog Charlie.
Room was delightful, good standard fittings and decorating, lovely big bed, coffee and tea and even a small fridge. Nice outlook over the sea. There is one other room adjoining in the building.
Breakfast next day had a good choice of cereals, fruit and freshly cooked hot breakfast, I think the eggs come from the chooks outside!
Place is easy to find, sign posted from the main road, short drive past a few other houses but soon onto their land and nice gardens.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

An excellent establishment,in a lovely location. You will want for nothing, and are regally looked after by Tim and Sally, a most delightful, personable couple. We stayed for three nights in a garden room, well equipped and furnished, clean and tidily kept.Before darkness set in on New Years Day, we enjoyed the use of their hot tub. Warmer days would allow the use of
the garden swimming pool. A hearty breakfast, around one big expensive table, with the other guests,in the grandest of lounges, is a most sociable way to start the day. Situated exactly between Barmouth and Harlech is an ideal position for enjoying the coast, the hills and the countless footpaths. There are plenty of good food places, and public houses to pass the
dark evenings. This farmhouse is a credit to Tim and Sallys business and entertaining ideas,
and they have already gained a large fan club. I recommend you to pop along and share the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in September. Sally and Tim welcomed us warmly. The room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the surroundings very quiet. There was a good selection of DVDs and free Wi-Fi. The full Welsh breakfast was done to a T with home-laid eggs, 'proper' bacon and sausage. The en-suite shower room was a comfortable size, though the shower enclosure was a bit of a squeeze. That would not put us of staying again. All in all our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRJoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Old Farmhouse for two nights and simply could not find fault with any aspect of our visit.

Tim, Sally (and Charlie) offer a warm welcome and follow this up with attentive yet unintrusive service. Our room in the farmhouse was cosy and well appointed with a plentiful supply of tea and coffee - a longstanding gripe of mine with larger chain hotels is the stringent rationing of such provisions however there are no such problems here. The china mugs and teapot were also a nice touch.

Our bed was very comfortable - I managed to sleep soundly right through our first night which is something I can never normally do in an unfamiliar bed - and the whole room spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is served in the large room upstairs (the farmhouse is upside down) at a large table which you share with the other guests. I was slightly apprehensive of this beforehand however the atmosphere was convivial and it actually enhanced our stay. The breakfast itself was excellent with a good choice of cereals and fruit, followed by a cooked breakfast comprising of the freshest of eggs as well as good quality bacon, sausage etc. Washed down with copious amounts of tea and coffee it made for the perfect start to the day.

The farmhouse is in a peaceful location and provides a great base for exploring North Wales. We would recommend it to anyone and will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockshutt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tim and Sally work very hard to make you feel as welcome as possible and nothing is too much trouble we stay 2 nights with our dachshunds and we all loved it, the hot tub was fantastic as were all the nice touches in the room which was clean and comfortable. the only downside which has absolutally nothing to do with the accomodation is i should have researched dog friendly pubs in the area as there are not many that will let dogs inside plenty will allow them in the garden. but we found some for next time tho !!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycockshutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived tired & damp after a long motor bike ride to be ushered into a garage by Tim, Sally and Charlie the dog - the room (Rhiannon) was spacious, spotless and had a lovely view over to the Llyn peninsula. A quick dip in the hot tub and a meal 10 minutes walk away at the Ael y Bryn later and we slept right through until a delicious breakfast - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cadwgan - Inn
Cadwgan - Inn
#3 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farmhouse

Property: The Old Farmhouse
Address: The Old Farmhouse Penrhiw, Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a hotel with the friendliness and informality of our renovated farmhouse.It is an ideal centre for touring Snowdonia, walking or just total relaxation by our large outdoor swimming pool and hot spa (open seasonally from April to September)whilst enjoying the breathtaking views of Snowdonia and the coast.This area of Secret Snowdonia offers visitors a wide range of interests including over 5 miles of one of Britain's few Blue Flag beaches. There are lots of castles and historic sites and visitor attractions including slate mines, little trains of Wales, Portmeirion and numerous and varied walks. There are quiet lanes for cyclists and stunning scenery, all of which are on the doorstep or within a short drive.The Old Farmhouse sits 350 feet above sea level and looks out over Cardigan Bay to the Llyn Peninsular in 1 1/2 acres of garden and originally dates from around 1600. It offers guests the traditional atmosphere of an old farmhouse but with the benefit of every modern convenience.Tim and Sally Knight will ensure you have a warm welcome and excellent service within superb surroundings and stunning views of the Llyn Peninsula. We are walker, cyclist, motor bike and pet friendly (for a small charge), with facilities and storage to cater for all necessary equipment including secure garaging.We are keen to offer good old fashioned quality and comfort combined with a healthy and hearty breakfast. As owners of The Old Farmhouse we hope you will enjoy your stay and fall in love with its charm and character as we have done and have a break to remember in the beautiful surroundings within Snowdonia National Park and come back and see us many times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Farmhouse Dyffryn Ardudwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing