We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ....”
Review of Cadwgan - Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cadwgan - Inn
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Came here for two nights.... No heating no hot water .... Asked for heating on as cold day and we were right upstairs at the top which was freezing.... Felt we shouldn't have asked for the heating to be allowed .... Hot water took ten minutes running the tap but still not as hot as it should be Breakfast was mediocre as we didn't have a menu noticed some people had mushrooms we never.... Dinner menu was very very expensive ..... While we were having breakfast the cat was around and the cleaner vacuuming while we were eating.... Room was ok tv not working properly .... If you are wondering about stopping here I would advise one night ! Or look elsewhere..... I know there were good reviews that's why we stopped there so either very puzzling at the ther reviews or we caught the owners at a bad time ?!?

Room Tip: Use lower levels as very damp and fusty the top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Myself and two friends shared a family room that suited our needs perfectly. The room and the Inn were comfortable and clean, all the staff and indeed other customers were all friendly and helpful when needed.
Breakfast was adequate; we ate one evening meal during our short stay and we all enjoyed it.
Cadwgan Inn is a pleasant, comfortable place to stay. The short walk to the beach is delightful. We even enjoyed the ritual of getting out of the car and having to open and close the level crossing gates when going to and leaving the Inn!
I'd be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplestar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had such a lovely stay and a wonderful family room. It had everything you could want. It had a kettle with tea ,coffee hot chocolate with biscuits! A hair dryer in the draw ,plus fresh towels were changed everyday. Our room was lovely and the kids enjoyed the tv in the room. Adam ,the owner made us feel very welcome so did the rest of his family members! breakfast was very nice with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and of course it included a hot breakfast too! We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The room with the triangle window! A good family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varsha45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Karen and Adam have always provided a wonderful service when we stay at the Cadwgan. Me and my partner have visited over ten times now and we always go back. The food is exceptional, with healthy portions and good variety. The puddings are wonderful, chocolate fudge cake is my favourite!

The rooms are very spacious and are always clean. I'm quite an old fuddyduddy despite being only 34, so me and my fiance go to bed at around 8pm. We can hear the music from the bar but it all goes quiet at 11pm (that's the only thing I can selfishly sulk about!).

The breakfast is superb! Karen always asks what time we want to have it. They are extremely flexible as once we asked to have breakfast at 10am. Local produce was used for the full English (sorry, Welsh) breakfast.

The price for evening meal, drinks and B&B rounded up to £50/head which is good value for a wonderful hotel.

Going back in August and hopefully we'll fit another visit in October.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the honeymoon suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigStrongMSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Staying in the village we a family of four ventured out for our evening meal. My wife is vegetarian and it is a rare occurrence to have a choice of four dishes on the main menu and four on the specials board. Whilst my teenage son chose the big burger and couldn't eat any more after (rare) I had a perfectly cooked plaice and my wife the spinach & ricotta cannelloni. My eight yr old son had the kids pizza and followed this up with an ice cream. The landlord was very welcoming and the food freshly cooked and piping hot. The only criticism was from my eight yr old son who suggested a five inch pizza on the kids menu was ok but if an adult wanted pizza this wasn't on the main menu, he loves pizza!!. We all decided this was the best meal of our holiday and was worth spending time telling others about it on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunctheshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A last minute booking for a day at the beach and was not disappointed.A very pretty hotel and so close to the railway that you don't need a car to go anywhere. Well maintained gardens and a delight to sit out in. Food was good and so were the hosts. The room we were in ( 7) was very clean and well appointed with a wonderful view towards the dunes and beyond.A great nights sleep and comfy beds

Room Tip: room 7 was great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank whosyabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a wonderfull golfing weekend spent playing some of the most fantastic golf courses we have ever played, we had the pleasure of making our base at the Cadwgan Inn, this gave us the opportunity to be central for most of the courses in the region.
Our stay in the Cadwgan was excellent, we found the Hotel warm,clean and very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Karen & Adam and all the staff made us feel welcome from the start to the end of our stay,we can not wait to come back again next year.

Thanks again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dyffryn Ardudwy
4.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ael y Bryn Hotel
Ael y Bryn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#2 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ystumgwern Hall Farm
Ystumgwern Hall Farm
#4 of 4 in Dyffryn Ardudwy
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cadwgan - Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadwgan - Inn

Address: Station Road, Dyffryn Ardudwy LL44 2HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dyffryn Ardudwy
Price Range: $154 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadwgan - Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cadwgan - Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadwgan - Inn Dyffryn Ardudwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing