We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
45
48
22
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
45
48
22
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue iguana seven mile beach grand caymanian golf course shuttle service free shuttle full kitchen bit out of the way the holiday inn large bedroom service provided by the staff super bowl party sandy area flat screen exercise room poolside bar washer dryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 129 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017

I enjoyed my stay from beginning to end, including the iguana, and the roosters! I slept so peaceful, I appreciated the food, the wifi. My only complaint is that I wish i could have stayed longer. If you are hiring please let me know! Thank you again for great customer service.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melinda3212003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina H, Director of Sales at Grand Caymanian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Thank you for your message melinda3212003.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're still looking for a job, please email your resume to lgreene@grandcaymanian.ky. We're always looking for some customer service all stars!

Tropical Regards,
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

My wife and I were excited to be visiting Grand Cayman. When we arrived, we immediately had trouble with rental car place honoring our Expedia made reservation and the car insurance purchased through Expedia. Don't rent from Apex near airport.

The resort we staid on was nice. Wynham Reef Resort on east end. Most of the staff was pretty friendly. We likes the two bar tenders. Two of the female waitresses seemed not as friendly. The first few days was very windy and the beach was not swimmable. We had to drive to seven mile beach on west side of island to enjoy swimming and sun bathing.

Food was really good all over island. Be prepared to spend a small fortune if you visit this island as every thing is very expensive.

I was hoping to do some shore fishing on the island. Apparently, fishing is not a big thing done here. Didn't see anyone else fishing and was asked not to fish on the resort. Staff actually told me it was not legal to be fishing where swimmers bath. Areas I did manage to fish seemed to hold too many fish. I did manage one small barracuda on first cast. I spent a lot of money on travel fishing gear and it was a shame to not get to use it.

Leaving Grand Cayman was a horrible experience. The air port here is one of the most unorganized I've ever been to. DO NOT leave on a Saturday. No were to sit while waiting, boarding pass machines weren't working, and no one seemed to know what they were doing. Apparently, you can "carry on" fishing poles into the island, however you cannot carry on fishing poles out of the island. This cost me an extra $40.

After waiting online and in the airport for 3 hours to leave, we had the pleasure of flying back United Airlines flight 1440. The parents in row 34 on this plane had 2 very unruly children who basically screamed and through temper tantrums the entire flight back. Parents - if you cant control your children, please be a little considerate and consider not taking vacations until your young children are a little older and better behaved.

All in all I would rate the trip as "fair". The island is very safe, though as mentioned above too expensive. I would recommend choosing somewhere else like Aruba before this place.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Denville_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina H, Director of Sales at Grand Caymanian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a Review. You may have posted for the wrong property however as you mentioned the Wyndham Reef Resort. :) We hope to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Resort or Grand Caymanian Resort on your next stay. We're located just across from Seven Mile Beach on the North Sound. We're about 45 minutes West of the Reef Resort and only 15-20 minutes from the airport in the same area as the other main hotels. Dollar Car rental is located at the Airport as well as in our Lobby and they offer our guests special rates. We also have an area shuttle that departs every hour between 10am and 6pm (times subject to change). We hope your next trip is more pleasant as they are working on airport upgrades as well.

Tropical Regards,
Holiday Inn Resort & Grand Caymanian Resort
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

We had a studio suite which was overlooking the golf course and the ocean. The resort was very clean and quiet and we met a number of people around the pool. There was a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere here. The resort staff were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely go back to this resort. We rented a car at the airport but this resort offers free shuttle service to many places such as shopping, and the famous 7 Mile Beach.

Room tip: We like to stay on the golf course side of the resort on the 3rd floor. The ocean view is beautiful.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LilyB305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina H, Director of Sales at Grand Caymanian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay Lily B. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Tropical Regards,
Grand Caymanian Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017

This hotel is very comfortable its super clean, the staff are so friendly the resort is very close to Seven Miles Beach, Its best to get a rental car from the airport so you can really see the island. the Locals are so friendly and helpful. The Hotel offers a shuttle in and around town but I think its best to get a rental so you can explore. This hotel is 1/2 The Holiday Inn but the stay in both are Great you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shellyexpress007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina H, Director of Sales at Grand Caymanian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay ShellyS. You mentioned the area shuttle that we offer complimentary each day and it takes you to Camana Bay, Public Beach (Seven Mile Beach), Fosters Grocery Store and George Town. If you prefer to venture off on your own, Dollar Car rental is located at the Airport or in our lobby. You can contact them at holidayinncarrental@gmail.com if you'd like to inquire about adding a car to your next hotel booking.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Tropical Regards,
Grand Caymanian Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We stay at the Grand Caymanian three times a year. Over the past year there have been many positive changes. The buildings and grounds are getting attention that had been lacking. Beautiful pool!! The Staff is always very accommodating. Somewhat off the beaten path but very relaxing. We always have a rental car!! The restaurant menu has been changed and the food is very good. If you want a five star experience call the Kimpton and have your bank book with you, but if you want good value and easy access to Seven Mile Beach and Georgetown you should check out the Grand Caymanian.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank whalerockLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina H, Director of Sales at Grand Caymanian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay BruceM.

You're absolutely right. We are just off the beaten bath but still close to everything you might need. For guests that would like more of a condo feel, or stay long term or even have children, we're the right place for you. Our One Bedroom King Suites have a full kitchen with dishwasher and oven, in room laundry, a private bedroom with a king bed and ensuite, dining room, living room, in room safe and a patio or balcony. They really are like a home away from home for many. Next time if you didn't this trip, book your car rental with Dollar and they will be sure to give you a special rate since you are our guest.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Tropical Regards,
Grand Caymanian Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews