We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cayman Kayaks

Cayman Kayaks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours meet at Rum Point, left side of parking lot look for kayak trailer. Travel By Paddle with Cayman Kayaks to a Bioluminescent Bay.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed the Biofluorescent tour, the guide was fantastic and very informative.

We highly recommended this tour to our friends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewW12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Manager at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello Andrew,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor about Cayman Kayaks

We hope this is a memory that you can experience again sometime!

Have a Great 2014 and years to come!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    48
    13
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow...pure awesomeness”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Did the Biofluorescent tour...this was purely amazing. It would be nice to see the local Caymanians cooperate with this natural phenomenon and turn off their outside lights, but even with the ambient light, it was really a cool thing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank peterNMdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hey Peter,

Thanks for joining us on tour and leaving the stellar review!

"pure awesomeness”

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were staying at a house not far from Rum Point (two adults, two teens) and thought that the bio-luminescent tour sounded cool, but we had no idea what to expect. We met the group and guides at Rum Point for a 9:30 paddle, were given our instructions, and made the short trip to the bay. We were all just blown away by the sparkling magic that we found there. It's difficult to describe, having never seen anything even close to it, but I will say -- go on the tour! It's wonderful and so beautiful kayaking in the warm water of the Caribbean under the stars. We'd do it again in a heartbeat. Just lovely. So memorable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhotoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
"It's wonderful and so beautiful kayaking in the warm water of the Caribbean..."

"We'd do it again in a heartbeat. Just lovely. So memorable."

Thanks for your review!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bio Bay a must see”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you are in Grand Cayman, you must do the bio bay tour! Tom, our super cool guide, took us out for a 10 minute kayak ride to bio bay. It is so apparent that Tom loves sharing his passion with the tourists. The bioluminescent waters left us in awe. It was surreal to see the water illuminate around our paddles, feet, or hands.

Rum Point is where Tom’s staging area is. It is extremely easy to find. The boat dock is on one end, he is on the opposite. Thanks for an awesome experience Tom!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherrieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Tom at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello Sherri,

Your Welcome!

"The bioluminescent waters left us in awe. It was surreal to see the water illuminate around our paddles, feet, or hands."

Surreal. Great way to describe it!

All the best to you and yours!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful kayak tour to bioluminescent bay”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family (2 parents, girls 11 and 13) enjoyed the kayak tour to the bay with bioluminescence very very much. The tour left from Rum Point. The company and tour guide handled everything very professionally and very satifactorily. We made reservations at the last minute so had to go on the 11PM tour. I was a little concerned that the paddling part would be a bit much for an out of shape mom and a kid in the kayak, but it was fine. The paddling part is fairly short and the guide set a reasonable pace. We had lots of time in the bay to play with the sparkling water. We did several excursions in Grand Cayman during the week we were there, and this one was by far the best for the money (some of the others were also great but were much more expensive).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank scooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
"We had lots of time in the bay to play with the sparkling water."

Hey! Thanks for writing a positive review on Cayman Kayaks!

Have a great 2014!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Kayaks also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Rum Point, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing