We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ages 7 to 70 Loved This Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayman Kayaks

Cayman Kayaks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours meet at Rum Point, left side of parking lot look for kayak trailer. Travel By Paddle with Cayman Kayaks to a Bioluminescent Bay.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Ages 7 to 70 Loved This Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Our group had a great night paddling out under the stars and seeing the bioluminescence. The tour was organized and timely and the guide was friendly and helpful. Our party was made up if family ages 7 to 70 and everyone had a great time!

Helpful?
Thank HBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello HBD,

"The tour was organized and timely and the guide was friendly and helpful."
Thank-you for noticing our care with organisation and time management.

"Our party was made up if family ages 7 to 70 and everyone had a great time!"

For future senior guests, please note that some physical is required and those that are over 65 are recommended to perhaps do a dry run on kayak during the day for those with no prior experience in a kayak or canoe.

Best

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    47
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kids absolutely loved it...and so did the adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The kayaks were the most comfortable we've been in, and that was just the start. The staff had good humor and were knowledgeable about the ecosystem of the bioluminesence and the bays. The kids, ages 10 and 12, ranked this right up there with Stingray City, and raved about it to everyone who would listen when we got back.

Dave was our tour guide, and did a great job. He seemed a little disappointed that no one took him up on his offer to tow the kayak back to the dock.

I highly recommend Cayman Kayaks - great time, great people.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Julio,

Dave just finished building those tow ropes and was telling me about how excited he was to be using them for the first couple nights. That make me laugh that he seemed sad not to use them lol.

I'm happy you have a great time with Dave and enjoying the bioluminescence with Cayman Kayaks

Best

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rushed and childish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The bioluminescence is amazing and I was glad we were able to experience it. I did feel that the tour was rushed so they could squeeze 3 trips in per night to make more money during the holidays. I also felt the tour guide catered to children even thought there were 2 on our trip. He knew his subject but It felt like kayaking with Mr. Rodgers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ogiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Manager at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
More guides have been hired to take the demand of the clients.

Tour groups have gotten smaller to give a more personalised tour.

Only two tours are offered and the times have changed slightly to allow the guest to be at ease and not feel rushed.

The tour guides have all seen this review and have been informed to cater to all guests and not just the kids.

Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only 12 places in the world to see this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great easy paddle to the bay where you can learn about this amazing and unique plankton. The waters glow and you can light up and handful of water up close. Great informative tour with guides that are accomadating knowledgable and care about protecting this delicate ecosystem. A must do activity when on cayman

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Minneapolisrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Manager at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for the raving review!
We look forward to having you back in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Seeing the bioluminescent algae is about the coolest thing ever - and Cayman Kayaks made the experience an enjoyable and educational one! Loved our guide, Tom, his personality and knowledge made the kayaking trip even better. We were well taken care of and loved seeing such an amazing natural phenomenon. Would highly recommend Cayman Kayaks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bookworm11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Tom at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
"We were well taken care"

Thanks for sharing your review of Cayman Kayaks!

"Seeing the bioluminescent algae is about the coolest thing ever"

The coolest thing ever! I would have to agree!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayman Kayaks also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Rum Point, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Cayman Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing