We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice for lunch in a week”
Review of Upper Crust Deli Bistro - CLOSED

Upper Crust Deli Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Twice for lunch in a week”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

One of the best deals in Cayman. Although it is not inexpensive, the salads and wraps are very good. Try the Scandinavian Wrap with smoked salmon, cucumber, julienne vegetables, lemon zest, herb cream cheese, shaved red onions, capers, hard-boiled eggs, iceberg lettuce. We also had the Seared Tuna Paseo which is a composition of sliced seared tuna, roma tomato, green beans, hard-boiled egg, picholine olives golden potatoes, fried capers, champagne vinaigrette dressing. On our second trip we had the Curry Chicken Salad Wrap and Caesar Chicken Wrap. These were not as good as the first one listed above, but still a good lunch. The passion fruit ice tea was strongly sweet, but when mixed with water it made two drinks that were great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoalTorrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice bistro”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Perfect place to grab lunch! Had the Fishcake sliders and they were excellent. Salad was very fresh also. Kids had French fries which were also tasty. Menu was varied and looked great for breakfast as well. Dessert looked fantastic, but we didn't partake. Service was very good and friendly. Has inside and outside seating. Inside seating was great for us as we were cleaned up and headed to the airport.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Good food, nice atmosphere but disappointing portions. My tuna salad had the smallest tuna steak I have seen. They were accommodating with my son. Hubby's quiche was actually the best I have tasted.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vallinnapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is great..so do we afford the waitress as well..?”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We work at cayman so obviously love uppercrust camanabay...cozy place great ambience and perfect food for people on meal break.it was this way all these days.. But not any more.. Visited there for lunch on Monday 17/06/2014.. As. Soon as I entered got to meet two groups of friends in there but on different purposes.. Some of them having food and some looking for a job in kitchen. Spoke to them all..that's when the waitress arrives and tells that I am not supposed to speak to my friends in their restaurant and her reason was that I was unprofessional... I had to be seated before I talk to people I meet right at the entrance... Unprofessional...?dat too when i am on my lunch break by myself at your restaurant...Really...? Madam Ms.Waitress, do you go to any other restaurants..? Or did your boss ask you to do that....? Whatever we are not gonna visit your place any more and will try to be a professional as advised by you...
Thanks
Nikhil

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East End, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be so much better...will probably never go back.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stopped by Upper Crust a few weeks ago on a Saturday morning. I had been a few times before, but only to grabbed some over-priced pastries, etc. to go. This time the four of us sat down outside (it is a lovely place to sit) and had coffee and breakfast.
The price of a cup of coffee is fairly steep and it really annoys me that they charge about $2.50 for each refill, regardless of whether you order a meal or not.
The service was absolutely awful and incredibly slow.
My father-in-law had "The Classic" Omelette au Fromage which was fine and the rest of us had the Eggs Benedict Florentine which consisted of 2 runny poached eggs on the tiniest & thinnest slices of baguette and a small dollop of hollandaise and that was it! The side cup of ketchup was bigger than the meal, and who serves ketchup with Eggs Benny!?!?!?! We asked for some home fries on the side since the plated serving was ridiculous. After everyone was about done eating, the server comes back (for the first time since delivering the food) with an order of french fries and then proceeds to say that they do not do homefries (even though there were plenty served with the omelette), needless to say, we sent the french fries back. And never any attempt at an apology from the server who could clearly see that we were not satisfied.
When I paid the bill I felt like I had been completely ripped off and as a result will likely never go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CayRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Crust Deli Bistro also viewed

Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing