We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish and Chips on Island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macabuca Bar & Grill

Macabuca Bar & Grill
Ranked #29 of 300 Restaurants in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Macabuca Oceanside Tiki Bar & Grill is a great place to enjoy the Caribbean Sea and watch the sunset... or the divers. Be sure to try our signature Macabuca Punch made with 5 rums, passion fruit and ginger ale, you won't be disappointed! Serving appetizers like the conch ceviche, conch fritters, calamari and coconut shrimp & our signature curry, fish & chips and the Big Maca Burger; there's something for everyone. Don't forget to leave room for dessert, our homemade Ice Cream Sandwiches are a great way to finish up a hot day in the sun. We are located just a block past The Cayman Turtle Farm or Dolphin Discovery on North West Point Road in West Bay.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips on Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I love the casual atmosphere and friendly servers who stay postive and pumped up about who they are and what they do! They have an awesome attiditude! I have eaten here twice and they truly have the best Fish and Chips on island!!!!! Huge Portions and flat out the bomb!!!! as a great lunch over looking the ocean! Will be back to eat in January!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PassengerPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    263
    46
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Sitting on a deck over the ocean, sea crashing around, gentle breeze blowing - what's not to like! The food is a well recognised mix on Grand Cayman: salads, fish, burgers, curries, sandwiches. There are a number of beers on tap. If you are there in the daytime, there are shady spots and umbrellas but you will want sun cream / a hat; if you are there at dusk, take a breezy spot by the sea to blow away any bugs. There is a ladder entrance to the sea as it is a great snorkelling / dive spot (dive school on site) but I like Macabuca as it's far from the crowds and has a great atmosphere.

(The sister restaurant (on a level above, slightly to one side) does not have the 'over water' top spot but is also excellent from a previous trip.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“beautiful view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had lunch here and really liked it, good food at very fair prices, especially with the gorgeous view. Very good sandwiches and salads. Would have liked to use their ladder to snorkel on site, just not good timing for us. Would definitely recommend eating here, sunset would be wonderful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank clbbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Silver Travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really a beach bar. Monday's extensive buffet consisting of hot dishes and salads is terrific value.
The bar is busy, the food is pleasant but I cannot rate it in the same category as Periwinkle.

The price is right. There is a special price for children for the buffet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Macabuca is the oudoor tiki bar next to The Cracked Conch. Our family had a nice lunch here after visiting the turtle farm. The conch appetizer platter was great and the rest of the food was pretty good. I am not a huge fan of ceviche, but the conch ceviche was fantastic. I was feeling adventurous and tried the shrimp curry. I was very pleasantly surprised by how good the curry was at this seaside tiki bar. The waterfront setting is beautiful, too.

This is a good spot for a casual lunch in West Bay - and is right next to the turtle farm, car museum and dolphin experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macabuca Bar & Grill also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Macabuca Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing