We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of fun”
Review of Stingray City

Stingray City
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Starfish and Stingray City Adventure with Snorkeling
Ranked #1 of 172 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loads of fun”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is our 2nd time visiting the island and both times we went to Stingray City and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,374
    590
    94
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2nd time to Stingray City-- honestly the best Excursion by far!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Watch which Excursion your booking, the Stingray and Dolphins are way overpriced, and the dolphins are not worth it, you just sit in a group with 100 other people and have your picture taken with the dolphins (there is another charge for pics).

The Stingray and Nature is definitely the best for your money! The Nature center Wild Exotic Birds are beautiful and fascinating and The Stingrays so gentle and sweet!

Just swimming at this sand bar is worth the money I promise!

you can go on a Catamaran or on a large engine boat. (when booking your excursion, look for info)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stev711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning experience!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A truly amazing experience, swimming with hundreds of stingrays and getting the opportunity to hold them, and even kiss them for 7 years good luck! The shallow water ensures it is a safe day out for families as well as groups of friends

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankManningUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunrise tour with white sand water sports is best”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

if you want to avoid the crowds, go at 7 am with white sand water sports. It leaves from Kaibo Yacht Club and has a short 8 minute boat ride. You are the only boat out there with only 8-10 people on it. Lots of interaction with the rays plus a great snorkel after. Never rushed. Great guide. Bring your underwater camera.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MyThoughtsToHelpU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must do...”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I thought this was going to be one of those "go to the marine zoo" and "swim with the stingrays". Ok, I guess I didn't read the reviews... but we went on a catamaran and headed out to sea. Snorkeled for about 35 minutes near the reef that is out in the middle of the ocean (ok, not the middle of the whole ocean but you know what I mean) and it was amazing. One of our crew members fed an morey eel and the rest of the fish were just beautiful. We got back on the catamaran and headed back to the sand bar which was right near the snorkeling and jumped in the ocean (about 3 feet deep - but their are waves and you can use a life jacket if you want) once again and there were all the stingrays. It was really amazing. A crew member showed us how to hold them gently under their large fins. They can swim away anytime they want. A person on our catamaran took pictures which we purchased on a DVD at the end of our trip. We left our hotel at 1:00 and returned at 5:00. It was a great afternoon activity and I would recommend this for everyone, including kids.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimBJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray City also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Stingray City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing