We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swim and kiss and hold stingrays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stingray City

Stingray City
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Starfish and Stingray City Adventure with Snorkeling
Ranked #1 of 167 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cape May New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Swim and kiss and hold stingrays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A nice half day experience. A pleasant boat ride to a special area where the water is more shallow and the stingrays know they will get fed. Bring an underwater camera and take unbelievable photos of a lifetime. Bring extra money to buy the pictures they take. The photos are expensive, but they pose you and your friends holding and kissing the rays. There is also other nice snorkeling in the area and the water is crystal clear. Beware, the rays are much bigger than we tend to think they are and it may be frightening to young children.

Helpful?
Thank jodar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,134
    557
    85
    27
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great place to take kids. Certainly not your everyday experience! Combine the tour with another experience because you can only be thrilled with petting a stingray for so long!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ellentd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast with the Stingrays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Breakfast with the stingrays is the way to see this attraction. We took a catamaran with Red Sail to stingray city early; we were the only boat out with the stingrays. Wonderful time swimming and "playing" with the stingrays and then we left to snorkel the barrier reef before the other boats descended on the area. This is the way to see this attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you're going to Grand Cayman, you must do this! Use Capt. Bryan's service and ask for Jake! This and snorkeling the barrier reef were highlights of the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hot, but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a shore excursion through the cruise line going to Stingray City while we were in Grand Cayman. This was one of the highlights of our trip! The boat ride out was hot, but very pleasant nonetheless. We all (self, hubby, 2 teenagers)snorkeled and held the stingrays. The workers out there tried to make sure everyone who wanted to got to hold the stingrays and/or get a "back massage" by them. The barbs have been removed from their stingers. Kinda sad for them, but since the area they are in is pretty enclosed and they are fed by a constant stream of tourists, I guess they don't need them. The stingrays really seemed to enjoy being held. Probably my human arrogance, but they were really calm about it, anyway! My daughter and I even kissed one! The water is absolutely beautiful-really, really salty though! Ah, the perils of the ocean!
This was a great time and I absolutely recommend it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray City also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Stingray City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing