We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Starfish!”
Review of Star Fish Point

Star Fish Point
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Rum Point Tour from George Town by Land Rover
Ranked #14 of 172 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big Starfish!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

These were the biggest starfish I've ever held and some of the biggest I've seen. Thankfully we had a knowledgeable guide and I've gained a new appreciation for these fascinating creatures.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    237
    112
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Star Fish Everywhere!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our time here once we found it. It would be nice if there was some better signage other than just Public Beach. Make sure that you walk way down to the right after you park. That whole area has star fish. You don't need your snorkel gear. It is shallow enough to just walk. Maybe bring your sand shoes. Another beautiful day at Rum Point!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolS1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Neat experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Star fish point is a bit difficult to find. It's close to the Kaibo Yacht club. Once you get there, get into the water and search for starfish. The water there is very shallow and a bit murky. Don't expect starfish to be everywhere - it gets very exciting when you find one.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travlr_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went on New Year's Day thinking to find this very secluded beach. It is a bit hard to find. Drive toward Rum Point on the East End. Right before the Rum Point barrels take a left onto Water Cay Road. Follow this road all the way past the yacht club. You'll see a little parking circle. Park there and walk left on the sandy path through the trees. You'll see the beach in a moment. We walked all the way around the point thinking we would see more starfish out there. What we did find were lots of boats moored, grills, beer and frisbee playing dogs! Looked like fun, but it wasn't what we were expecting. We searched for starfish, but I was getting nervous in the water with all of the boats pulling in. We didn't want to get whacked by a propeller. We got out of the water and headed back to the quieter beaches where we first entered. Within a moment we saw two large starfish. An hour later, we had seen 25 and had a great time photographing them! This is a lovely place to visit. The water is shallow and warm and there is a nice sunset from here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank catmeow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Star Fish Point”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited during the off season in September. We seen several star fish each time we visited and thought the beach was a wonderful get away. (If I could figure out how to upload pictures, I would prove it)! Although there is a lot of trash on the inland and it looks abandon, this place is absolutely beautiful for someone that likes uncrowded beaches. The sand is lovely and the waters are stunning! From the point, you can sit in the sand and watch the sunset!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherrieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Fish Point also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Star Fish Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing