We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a really pretty beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Fish Point

Star Fish Point
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Rum Point Tour from George Town by Land Rover
Ranked #14 of 167 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Not a really pretty beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this beach. First the pros: it is a very isolated deserted beach. If you are looking for a rustic private place to walk in peace, this is a good spot. There was one other couple there when we went but they were on their way out. We walked all the way around the point. It was very relaxing. We saw starfish. They were in about 18 inches of water so were easy to see. The cons though are more numerous: We only saw 4 starfish during our whole time there. We expected to see more. It is not a pretty beach because of the wooden and plastic barricades. The point was supposed to be developed into a housing project but it has been abandoned and there is trash everywhere. If you are in the Rum Point area any way then it's worth it to drive to it but not worth a special trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    220
    101
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were told to head to the end of the road and keep going. Ended up being the only one there. No, there are not a lot of starfish anymore, but we did find about 12-15 large starfish. Great afternoon and something we never imagined. Let's hope that people don't take anymore souvenirs home and maybe others will get to be awed as we were.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
437 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“large starfish but not like in the brochure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The beach has wooden breakwaters and on the weekend there are owners that moor their boats there and drink with their friends in the shallow waters. The starfish are the size of dinner plates but they do not lie on the sand as in the brochures. They are scattered every few metres and they do NOT like to be picked up and taken out of the water...there apparently are less and less starfish every year maybe b/c of the handling or maybe b/c of the increased traffic. There are wooden breakwaters erected so this is not a long stretch of beach. I enjoyed snorkelling in this area, seeing the starfish and collecting little shells before our dinner at Upstairs Kaibo. If we were not going to be on the North side anyways I'm not sure I would recommend a trip just to see the starfish. If you have lots of time and like to see new things, then by all means, we were here for 2 weeks. But if you're only in Cayman for a short while, you may want to check out other attractions first!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful spot!!! Must do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We rented a jeep for the day while in grand cayman for the day on a cruise. We stopped here for a while and came in through the entrance to Ivory Kai Point. It was amazing. We were the only 4 on the beach for almost the entire time we were there and found several starfish just steps into the water. Tour groups will come by the area so it may be very hit or miss but for us it was by far my favorite spot on grand cayman. 2 in our group also swam a little further out and there is a huge "conch graveyard" to explore. Definitely a must see if you have the time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must see Starfish Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Starfish gather here to feed on the sea grass and enjoy the waters where the sound meets the ocean. Starfish can be seen in the shallow clear sandy bottom near shore as well....Last week we counted 25+ on one visit. Please take care, look but don't handle and help preserve the point for others to enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Fish Point also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Star Fish Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing