We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Canyon underwater”
Review of Devil's Grotto

Ranked #36 of 173 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Virtual playground of mazes and grottoes.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon underwater”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It is such a surprise when something so awe inspiring is FREE and not where you expect it. As we entered the water at the Don Foster Dive School and see large cruise ships docked a few hundred feet off shore, we put our masks in and find another universe underwater. I realize that is the point of snorkeling and scubadiving, but it never fails to surprise me how different the underwater terrain can be from beach to beach and country to country. The water was crystal clear meaning the panorama was enormous. It felt like viewing the Grand Canyon from the air only I was underwater and there were tons of fish and coral!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CoraPueblo_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    30
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good Snorkeling, Clear Water”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great place to go if you are on a cruise ship docked at the port and want a close by place to snorkel or dive. Once you get out of the cruise terminal turn right and take the short walk to Eden Rock Dive Shop. They will rent snorkel or dive equipment to you. It is an easy water entrance. It's not a beach but a dock with steps to the water. Once you are in the water, you can swim straight to a buoy and then turn right. You will see variety of fish, beautiful reef and caverns. The first time we went the water was calm. The second time it was rougher but still easily negotiated. Even 150 feet out, you are still in protected waters. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Snorkel Paradise”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a great place to snorkel! We swam out from Eden Rock Dive Center and headed straight to Devil's Grotto. We not only saw the beautiful reef and lots of fish, but also a shark!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kking_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent and easy diving with a variety of sea life to view”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Dove Devils's Grotto, from Eden Rock, three times over the week plus we stayed on GC this trip.

It is always amazing to me how easy a dive site this is with such a variety of great things to see.

All three dives, the water was calm, warm, no current, and vis was about 50-70 feet in different areas around the reef sides.

Over the dives we saw great reef formations, healthy coral, lots of great swim through and sea caves, as well as lots of color and coral variations all over the Grotto area.

There were large critters to see around the Devil's Grotto area. One dive we saw an adult Nurse Shark near the middle buoy drop down area, off the reef finger. On another dive near or around the Grotto, we saw a pair of large Sting Rays playing and moving through the sand finger channels.

Of the smaller critter variety, we saw tons of Flamingo Tongue Snails, Giant Sea Anemones (Purple, White, Yellow, Blue, and Green variations), Banded Coral Shrimp, Christmas Tree Worms, Pederson Cleaning Shrimp, Corkscrew Anemone, Wrasse, Grouper, Angelfish, Eels, and a ton of other beautiful sea creatures.

This truely is a great dive site and one you can explore over and over, never seeing the same thing twice. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank figurephenatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dive”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice shore dive, especially in the summer when the Silver sides are present. It is really awesome to swim thru thousands of them. Also go visit the Mermaid near Eden Rock.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Grotto also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Devil's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing