We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, memorable diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babylon

Ranked #70 of 168 things to do in Grand Cayman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the 50 dive sites to be found off Grand Cayman's East End.
KNOXVILLE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, memorable diving”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Babylon is a wonderful dive site for deep and shallow diving. Swimming around the pinnacle gives wonderful views of resplendent coral and ocean life. It never gets boring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TopCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark DE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great dive site”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lots of fish good coral life A little out of the way on the north wall but worth going to It is possible to go from shore but it is a long swim

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ecurblebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For advanced divers only!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After some advice from an Ocean Frontiers employee, we decided to dive "Julie's Wall down to "Babylon". The parking spot for this site is directly across from Rosebud Dr. on Old Robin Rd. about a 1/4 mile west of the Queen's Monument. Previously, we started on Babylon and worked our way east from there.
1) The surf was gentle and the kick out was uneventful, albeit, fairly long. When we hit the ball, we noticed a slight E-W current, so our plan to dive towards Babylon was intact. Having never dived this portion of the North Wall, we didn't know what to expect. OMG! The wall was absolutely spectacular! Prehistoric comes to mind when trying to come up with a way to describe it. The "sort of" swim-through as you leave "Julie's" and enter "Babylon" is so cool! Pinnacles abound here and there is almost too much to take in at one time. We cut back towards the reef in a cavern and ran right into the "Babylon" pin. The reef in this area was, by far, the most colorful and healthiest of any I have seen on the island in years. We made our way back in towards the beach and didn't want to surface, knowing that it was our last dive of the trip. What a way to finish off the week and make me wanting to come back asap!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing wall dive!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great site and worth diving! Just be careful when shore diving as my friends and I were recently robbed. We left the car keys under a rock off to the side and someone found the keys, unlocked the car and stole our cash, cellphones, watches, and sunglasses.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scottcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babylon also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing