We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private, nice walk”
Review of Mastic Trail

Mastic Trail
Ranked #35 of 171 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours are offered on this old nature trail that takes visitors through several of the island's various ecosystems.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“private, nice walk”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

was a cool find, not many undeveloped areas on this island, this is about as rustic as it gets. wish \i had a mountain bike but was a very relaxing beautiful walk. and it was free!!! not much to do here for free! lol

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michaelonmyown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    76
    24
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A side of Cayman we never knew for 8 years”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boys had done the trail for school but my wife and I had never down it. Then Texas visitors wanted to go and our eyes were opened to a side of Cayment we did not know exisited. Many breeds of birds, fauna, and elevation above ice age sea levels. Call the National trust for a guided tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JCCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Uneventful hike”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We walked and walked for an hour over rocky terrain and saw one lizard and a couple of birds. We never reached the end of the trail because the trail was u serious water at one point. There is lots to see on Grand Cayman but you won't find much of it here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“no way”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The trail was basically a swamp and we had to muck through smelly mud. We turned around after we figured out it was not going to get any better. Best part was the Trail sign with all the information on it because there was a frog in ever corner of the sign. We did see one snake before turning around. Our shoes were really gross and I threw mine away. I am glad I had brought an old pair. Those in the group wearing hiking sandals were not happy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cntlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

There is something particularly satisfying about doing a trail that is devoid of other travellers. You will see, if you choose the right time of day, plenty of birds even parrots. Remember to put lots of mosquito repellent on (even under t-shirts) and sun block. Also bring water. The walk itself is not challenging so is suitable for any able bodied person over the age of 8.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastic Trail also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Mastic Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing