We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice morning excursion for the family”

Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Grand Cayman Tour by 4x4 Including Pedro St James and Botanic Park
Ranked #17 of 168 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to orchids (in bloom late May through June) and elusive iguanas as well as parrots and other birds.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice morning excursion for the family”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a really nice leisurely family morning excursion. I think I was expecting a bit more of a manicured-landscaped feel, but our walk through the grounds was still quite enjoyable. 3 tips: make sure you wear a hat, as many areas are not shaded; unless you have an “all terrain” stroller, think about using a baby carrier instead (lots of fine gravel paths); the orchids are not blooming in December. We thoroughly enjoyed counting/spotting the rare blue iguanas. (If you’re looking, you can find a pricey plush blue iguana at the gift store at the Dolphin center across from the Turtle farm). $10/adult US. (Extra: continue north for another 15-20 minutes, and check out Starfish Point).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank emily y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    322
    147
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Change from a Day at the Beach”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent one day visiting the park and it was a nice change of pace from a day at the beach. It was also a wonderful way to learn about Cayman plants, animals and culture. The gardens are displayed well and many plants and trees are labeled and descriptive information is provided. Gardens include a woodland walking trail, orchid garden, cactus garden, color garden, and an early Cayman home display that contains a "bush medicine" garden. There is an iguana preserve within the park that requires an additional fee. The trails are well maintained and it is an easy walk for young and old. There are many benches along the way to either sit and rest, or just admire nature's gifts. There are many great photo op places too! I believe most of the main trails would be be fairly accessible with a stroller or transport chair. There is a small gift shop at the entrance that sells souvenirs, drinks, ice cream and has a restroom. The iguana preserve is extra, but I think we paid $10 USD p.p for the park. We spent approximately 3 hours there and in addition to all the flowers and trees, we saw blue iguanas, parrots, many multi-colored birds, various lizards, and frogs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Magiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been to gardens all over the world and this was one of the best. Not only were the plants, trees and flowers lovely in a natural setting but the blue Iguanas, roaming around are unreal.

We saw wild parrots, fish, snakes and frogs(the size of your hand). My husband even enjoyed it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank oliviajohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must on any Cayman trip”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is quite thrilling to see the large blue iguana in the wild here, and to know that the Cayman Islands are working hard to keep them from extinction.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarryEastLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Iguanas”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Blue Iguanas were amazing! Not as blue as I originally thought, but still cool! Not all the trees were in bloom, especially in the fruit tree garden, but i figure that's to be expected with seasons. But overall a must see!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park also viewed

 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing