We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting bit of history”

Pedro St. James National Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.50*
and up
Pedro St. James Castle General Admission and Guided Tour
Ranked #16 of 172 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Oldest building in the Caymans, this "castle" is now a museum.
London, ON
Level Contributor
159 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An interesting bit of history”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Easily accessible from the East End, I am not sure if there are many tour companies that provide transportation. However there appears to be a pretty good bus transportation system that will get you there from Georgetown.

We were shocked and a little disappointed with how few visitors there were to this. I am not really a museum or historical type person but this was an enjoyable little place to visit. There was only one other couple who came to see it during the time that we were there, and wonder how they manage to stay in business with so few tourists visiting. It is considered to be the oldest building still standing on the island, and is often referred to as Pedro’s Castle. There is an informative “theatrical” presentation that starts off the tour after you are giving a short guided tour of its history.

There must be another company that you can get that appears to take people on a private tour from what I can tell of the island. There was a guide that was taken another couple through this museum that allowed as to go along with her, as normally the rest of Pedro St James is a self-guided tour. This person gave additional information and explained some of the artifacts and different parts of the building and such. This helped explained some of the things that weren’t explained otherwise.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gandalf2520002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    135
    36
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you love history stop here!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

WE had a very nice visit to this peice of history. We were lucky we stopped in the afternoon after the cruise ship people had left so it wasn't very crowded. The movie you watch before the tour was very well done! It's worth the money to take this tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karlota_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming slice of history”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were absolutely amazed when we visited Pedro st. James the first time. We had visited Cayman several times and not visited it before. We were lucky to be shown around by Carl - one of the descendants of the family. He breathed life into the tour and told us stories and little episodes. Our personal tour lasted longer than originally intended. He told us we had to come back with our boys, and we did a year or so later.
Carl was there to meet us and take us through, although unfortunately, it looked like his health had waned since our last visit. Our boys 25 and 20, thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Carl even got us all marble turtle souvenirs to remember our visit.
The next time my husband and son were in cayman they looked up Carl, as we wanted to give him a bottle of wine. They felt his memory had faded and he could barely remember them, although his enthusiasm was the same.
Thanks Carl for making Pedro St. James so special to us. We enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you. ...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saapaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice historical insight”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We enjoyed our time at Pedro St. James. Good presentation, interesting history, lovely grounds and home. We were also fortunate to have one of the Edens family descendants as our tour guide--delightful older man full of stories and obvious pride in his heritage.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jansings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Beginning”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place explains how living on island was started. The castle is beautiful. A very nice historic experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro St. James National Historic Site also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Pedro St. James National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing