We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great Time with Captain Chip & Buster

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Found them on the pier easily per the instructions. It is... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
davidm16
,
Toronto
Best Stingray Outing!

If you want the best stingray experience, book with stingray city sailing ! Chip knows how to treat... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
C_Adventure
,
Rochester, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 927 reviews
  
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
871
29
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
29
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain chip cruise ship stingray city fish fresh fruit and water small group sand bar mate chris these guys for sale great trip an excursion highlight of our trip tour group salt water an amazing experience top notch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Found them on the pier easily per the instructions. It is obvious he loves what he does. Chip took the time to explain how to interact with the stingrays and what not to do. My wife was very nervous while in the water with them and he saw that. He took the time to take her to the side and stood there with her as the stingrays swam to him so she could see and touch them. Not sure she was any less nervous, but she greatly appreciated the effort he made. Definitely a must do tour if you are in Grand Cayman!

Thank davidm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

If you want the best stingray experience, book with stingray city sailing ! Chip knows how to treat the stingrays and cares about them. Other guides are rough with the rays. Snorkeling at the reef was excellent too. Smooth boat ride. I usually get sea sick, but not this time. Our boat had 15 people - other boats are extremely packed down and I was glad we booked for this experience. A very fun outing and reasonable price.

Thank C_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Captain Chip and his dad Buster were fantastic! We debated even going out to see the stingrays after reading how horribly some of the tour operators treat them, and Chip was the exact opposite. He was respectful and gentle and showed us to interact with them easily without grabbing or restraining them. We only had 8 folks on our tour and it felt like a private tour. My husband spent a great deal of time talking with Chip and Buster about their sailing experiences and they happily chatted with him and shared information. This was a highlight of our trip! Book with these folks, you won't regret it.

Thank Bluemeanie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us went to Stingray City with Stingray Sailing. We were on the Island Princess. Chip met us on the rocks and we had a fantastic day! Booking was easy online. Cost was much more reasonable than booking through the ship and we had a much more personal experience. Highly recommend this if you visit Grand Cayman! We were back on time no fear of missing the boat!

Thank whalisonwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Chip is the best tour guide we could have hoped for! There ended up only being two of us and he cared enough about not disappointing us that he still took us out even though I'm sure he lost money on the deal.
He truly cares about the stingrays and they seem to feel the same way based on how many came swarming to us as soon as he got in the water. He treats them with respect, unlike most of the other tour guides we saw who showed up with packed boats and were just interested in capturing a ray to make it pose for a picture they hoped to sell. Don't go anywhere else...by far this is the best tour you will find!!

Thank OnAir72042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We arrived early at the meeting place (which was very easy to find) and met Chip's Dad. He was very nice and chatted with us while we waited for more people. Chip arrived right on time and took us to the dock. He also chatted with us along the way. We tend to ask lots of questions and he was patient and informative. It started out rainy, but Chip was able to dodge most of the rain showers and the sun came out once we hit the reef. The snorkeling was very relaxed and we saw some beautiful fish. Our group was very small compared to the stuffed boats near by. We felt like we were on a private tour! We then moved over to the sandbar and the stingrays immediately began moving towards Chip. They seem to really enjoy his presence. He told us to come on over and we spent lots of time in the water with lots of stingrays around us. What they say about Chip is true, he really loves the animals and treats them with care. I felt bad for the other boats because those people were all in a line to take a picture with 1 stingray while we were enjoying several stingrays all around us. Chip is a terrific guide and his catamaran was beautiful. Thank you again Chip for the fantastic trip! Amy

Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Captain Chip provided us with the best vacation trip we have had in our years of vacationing in the Caribbean. He was full of information about the Islands, the people and history, and it was presented in a conversational way. We felt we were old friends by the end of our experience. The snorkeling was fine, but Stingray City was beyond amazing! We saw all the other tour boats loaded with people, taking pictures with one ray that was hoisted out of the water and held so people could pose beside it. We, on the other hand, were able to be in the water with the rays swimming around us like puppies, all vying for our attention. He told us some of the rays have known him for upwards of 10 years, and he had names for many of them - Weirdo, Sammi, etc. He knew their individual characters, and let us feed them safely while they milled around. If you do nothing else on your vacation, make sure you sign up for this trip because it will be the highlight of your life! Shoutout to Kevin, a friend of Chip's who was visiting from Canada and acting as mate. We will be reliving this trip for years! If there was a better rating than 5 stars this experience would have it!

1  Thank Judie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Captain Chip was wonderful! Very knowledgeable about the stingrays and coral reefs, and made sure everyone had plenty of time at each stop. There is so much room on the boat so everyone was comfortable and the ride was very smooth. Would highly recommend this company, especially as they treat the animals and ocean with respect. Thank you for making this the highlight of our time in Cayman!

Thank marilynelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

They made great drinks. My wife and I felt extremely safe. We found these guys through word-of-mouth, but it truly made out Grand Cayman experience. The boat was beautiful, it was a nice 20-30min cruise out to Stingray City. Unlike the other boats we saw providing stingray tours, these guys did NOT jam-pack their vessel with as many tourists as they could. On the other hand, it was a perfect amount of people (10-15) and it almost felt as if it was a private tour. We met other awesome couples who were great to talk to.

Thank 410person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

This is a "must do" while on Grand Cayman. Beautiful scenery, warm waters and the Stingrays; really up close and personal. The tour operator went our of their way to explain about the Stingrays and how to touch/communicate with them. Just a great trip

1  Thank kwfrost44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews