We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous time with Chip and Kevin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stingray Sailing

Stingray Sailing
Ranked #5 of 181 Tours in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Remember when customer satisfaction came first? We do!! At Stingray Sailing, you will get to experience the main attraction in Cayman, swimming with the friendly Southern Stingrays, and you will get to do so with a company who's bottom line isn't a dollar sign. As a proud, family owned and operated business, we focus on getting to know our guests on a personal level, while at the same time, providing life long memories. With limited spaces, only 25 per tour available, you are guaranteed to be treated as a friend, not just a number. We offer relaxing tours done on board a beautiful, 43 foot sailing catamaran, to the world famous Stingray City Sandbar; and whether it is swimming with the stingrays, snorkeling the coral reef, or just enjoying the beautiful Caribbean sun and water, Stingray Sailing is committed to helping you make the best of your time in Grand Cayman. With daily tours scheduled to accommodate both cruise ship and on island guests, booking your tour is just a quick email or phone call away! Join our family, we look forward to having you on board!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous time with Chip and Kevin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

There were only 17 guests on our boat, as compared with 50-100 on the other other boats at the stingray sandbar. We had an amazing time feeding the rays and then snorkeling. Chip is deeply knowledgeable about the island and the environment. The snorkeling equipment was clean and in good condition. As a bonus, since we had time after the excursion, Kevin dropped us at the Public Beach instead of driving us back to the Port. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tnjgotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    25
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Support this Independent Family Business!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Captain Chip and his Dad serve as the crew, along with Chip's lifelong friend, Mark who works as the photographer and Mark's son, a deckhand in training are simply good people. Unlike some of the other business, they offer a hotel pickup at no charge, and when they were running late, they had the courtesy to call the hotel and give us a heads up. The weather was iffy the day we went as it had been stormy and sunny all day long. We went on the afternoon run, as the morning sail was booked already. I was disappointed when we motored out to the sandbar, but was okay with it later, when Chip explained that he didn't raise the sails due to the questionable weather and the fact his jib had ripped earlier in the week and his sail repair lady was off island on Christmas vacation. We snorkeled first, but there was a really strong current and the seas were rough, and there was not much to see. Then we went to the sand bar and Chip taught us how to feed them, using fish, rather than the squid other boats use, as the fish is an actual natural part of their diet while squid are not. He was very gentle with them, and guided them to the surface and we were able to hold the rays. Apparently, there are five rays they regularly see, and two of them made an appearance yesterday. Mark took great shots and we ended up buying a CD from him. When we were pressed for time returning to dock later than expected, Chip's father gave us a lift in his car rather than riding on the bus, so we would make it on time for our next excursion that evening to the bioluminescent bay. Keep it up guys, well done!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rthomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stingray Sailing is the only way to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had to have a catamaran tour. We chose Stingray Sailing after reading a ton of reviews on Trip Advisor. There were only about 14 of us on the tour. We relaxed on the trampoline in the front of the catamaran on the way to Sting Ray City. They took pictures of us with our own cameras so there was no high pressure sales pitch to buy their pictures. Gave us great advice on snorkeling with younger children. They cut up fresh pineapple and other fruit to snack on on the way back. Cold bottled water anytime we wanted it. It was everything we wanted and more. We loved it and highly recommend it to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcsellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Responsible Family Business!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I booked a trip with Stingray Sailing as a shore excursion at Cayman for our cruise trip with my parents. The wave was a bit rough that day and the captain made efforts to take us out to the water to check out the water condition. He jumped into the water himself and decided it was too rough to be an easy and enjoyable experience. The captain said this wasn't the type of tour they sell and said they are not going to charge us anything. But he still allowed us who feel comfortable swimming to get into the water and play with the rays. We didn't do the coral reef snorkeling part and sailed right back. But it was still a great experience and we had a great time. We didn't ask for refunding the deposit (they said we can if we want to) and paid them some more (less than the full amount) for taking us out. I would go with them again if I visit Cayman again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CheChe008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip to Stingray City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Captain Chip and 1st Mate Kevin were great fun to travel to Stingray City with on our recent trip to Grand Cayman. They skillfully maneuvered the boat into a great position where our group entered the water and were quickly surrounded by Stingrays who seemed more like dogs than fish! With bait in hand, Kevin had them right in our midst allowing us close interaction. The trip out and back was filled with lots of information about the rays and the boat was great. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray Sailing also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Stingray Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing